November 2018 Member News

Nov 01, 2018

Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD, FASCO, received the American College of Surgeons Jacobson Innovation Award.

Dan Theodorescu, MD, PhD, has been named director of the Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute at Cedars-Sinai.

Tanya Dorff, MD, has joined City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center as associate clinical professor in the Department of Medical Oncology, heading the genitourinary cancers program.

Benjamin Djulbegovic, MD, PhD, has been named director of Evidence-Based Medicine and Comparative Effectiveness Research, a new program at City of Hope designed to improve patient outcomes by fully integrating research, education, and clinical practice.

Steven T. Rosen, MD, FACP, FASCO, has been inducted into the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Martin W. Oster, MD, was awarded the 2018 Practitioner of the Year Jerry Gliklich Award by the Society of Practitioners of the NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical Center.

Pooja Ghatalia, MD, joined the Fox Chase Cancer Center as an assistant professor in the Department of Hematology/Oncology.

Stephen J. Forman, MD, has been inducted as an honorary member of the Association of American Physicians.

Eric Tetzlaff, MHS, PA-C, DFAAPA, has received the American Academy of Physician Assistants 2018 Publishing Award for his article, “National Study of Burnout and Career Satisfaction Among Physician Assistants in Oncology: Implications for Team-Based Care,” published in the Journal of Oncology Practice.

The new journal Advances in Cell & Gene Therapy named Syed A. Abutalib, MD, as one of its editors in chief. H. Joachim Deeg, MD, was named a deputy editor.

Claire L. Meaney, PhD, is a recipient of the 2018 William G. Coleman, Jr, PhD, Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Innovation Award.

Julia L. Close, MD, was recognized with a 2018 APEX Grand Award for her blog post, “You Are Okay: Letting Go of Guilt, ‘Balance,’ and Impossible Expectations,” published in ASCO Connection.

Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD, FASCO, James P. Allison, PhD, and Carl H. June, MD, received the 2018 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research.

Alan Yahanda, MD, FACS, chief of staff at Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA) Atlanta, was promoted to chair of the Department of Surgery.

Arturo Loaiza-Bonilla, MD, MSEd, FACP, chief of medical oncology and medical director of research at CTCA Philadelphia, has been named vice chair of the Department of Medical Oncology.

The following members were recognized with a “40 Under 40 in Cancer” designation by The Lynx Group and McGivney Global Advisors: Areej El-Jawahri, MD; Matthew Farber, MA; Maria Ho, PhD; Kate Yglesias Houghton; Sophia C. Kamran, MD; Daneng Li, MD; Edward Li, PharmD, MPH, BCOP; LeAnn B. Norris, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS, BCOP; Zosia Piotrowska, MD, MHS; and Heloisa Soares, MD, PhD.

Back to Top