Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

July 2023 Member News

Jul 20, 2023

ASCO CEO Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO, was honored with the 2023 Janeway Medal from the American Radium Society. He delivered the associated Janeway Lecture on May 20 on the theme of “Progress and Professionalism.” 

President Joseph R. Biden announced his intent to appoint six members, including Richard J. Boxer, MD, to the National Cancer Advisory Board (NCAB).   
Fred Appelbaum, MD, was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society for Transplantation and Cellular Therapy (ASTCT). 
Elizabeth Goodwin Hill, PhD, was selected as a biostatistics reviewer for the Journal of Clinical Oncology
The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center selected James P. Allison, PhD, as the recipient of the 25th Herbert and Maxine Block Memorial Lectureship Award for Distinguished Achievement in Cancer. 
Three lymphoma specialists at Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, including Jonathan H. Schatz, MD, and Juan P. Alderuccio, MD, were awarded a $1.5 million grant from the U.S. Department of Defense - Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRP) to advance their work in identifying drivers of resistance in lymphoma. 
Norman Wolmark, MD, FACS, FRCS, received funding from the Breast Cancer Research Foundation (BCRF) to support research on how HER2 drives breast cancer progression. 
ASTCT has chosen Miguel-Angel Perales, MD, as its 2023–2024 president. 
The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) announced the appointment of Rangaswamy Govindarajan, MD, as chief of the Division of Hematology and Oncology at the UAMS Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute. 
Stephen Lai, MD, PhD, Cullen Taniguchi, MD, PhD, and Apostolia Tsimberidou, MD, PhD, were named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for their notable contributions to the field of cancer research.  
Northwell Health appointed Richard D. Carvajal, MD, as deputy physician-in-chief and director of medical oncology at the Northwell Health Cancer Institute. 
The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) awarded Carl H. June, MD, FAACR, with the 2023 AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research. 
AACR honored Elizabeth M. Jaffee, MD, FAACR, with the 2023 AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research. 
Two cancer experts will lead Mount Sinai’s new Tisch Cancer Hospital, which is under development and expected to open in 2027. Cardinale B. Smith, MD, PhD, has been appointed chief medical officer and vice president of cancer clinical affairs, and Ash Tewari, MBBS, MCh, has been appointed surgeon-in-chief. 
The Lymphoma Research Foundation (LRF) announced the creation of the Kanti R. Rai, MD, Clinical Scholar Program to fund the ongoing study of lymphoma and chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), which was established in recognition of Dr. Rai’s global leadership in the field of lymphoma and CLL research and his commitment to LRF’s mission.  
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center announced the appointment of Kerin Adelson, MD, FASCO, as the institution’s chief quality and value officer. 
AACR announced its newly elected class of Fellows of the AACR Academy, including George Coukos, MD, PhD, Laura Esserman, MD, MBA, FASCO, Keith T. Flaherty, MD, Patricia LoRusso, DO, PhD, FASCO, Charles M. Perou, PhD, Robert A. Winn, MD, and Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD, FASCO
City of Hope announced the appointment of John D. Carpten, PhD, as director of the National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated comprehensive cancer center, director of Beckman Research Institute of City of Hope, and chief scientific officer. 
In Memoriam 
Mark Stephen Gelder, MD; Anil Kapoor, MD; Frank J. Panettiere, MD, FACP 
The ASCO Post contributed reporting. 

Back to Top