March 2017 Member News

Mar 02, 2017

To honor James O. Armitage, MD, FASCO, for his internationally recognized expertise in lymphoma treatment, the University of Nebraska Board of Regents voted to rename the Center for Leukemia and Lymphoma Research, established in 2003, to the Dr. James O. Armitage Center for Leukemia and Lymphoma Research.

In October 2016, Indiana University (IU) President Michael A. McRobbie dedicated the Champion Center for Cancer Control Research at the IU School of Nursing, in honor of Victoria Champion, PhD, RN. Dr. Champion, of the IU Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, also received the IU President’s Medal for Excellence.

Laura F. Hutchins, MD, was presented with the 2016 Arkansas Business Health Care Heroes Lifetime Achievement Award for her 33 years of research in breast cancer and melanoma, and for her work in developing technology to support physicians, scientists, and patients involved in clinical trials research.

Steven K. Libutti, MD, FACS, was named director of Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey and will serve as vice chancellor for cancer programs for Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences at Rutgers University. Dr. Libutti will also serve as senior vice president of oncology services for RWJBarnabas Health.

Supriya Kumar Saha, MD, PhD, a past Conquer Cancer Foundation Young Investigator Award recipient, established the Saha Laboratory for Liver Cancer Translational Research at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center to study cholangiocarcinoma.

Justin Balko, PharmD, PhD, of Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, has been awarded a 2-year grant from The V Foundation for Cancer Research to investigate whether specific therapeutic combinations can make immunotherapies more effective against low-mutation tumors.

Israel Zighelboim, MD, FACOG, FACS, has been named chair of St. Luke’s University Health Network’s Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

John C. Ruckdeschel, MD, joined the University of Mississippi Medical Center as director of the Cancer Institute and Ergon Chair in Cancer Research.

Charles L. Shapiro, MD, led a study at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, published in JAMA Network in January 2017, which reports that zoledronic acid every 12 weeks compared with every 4 weeks did not result in an increased risk of skeletal events over 2 years in patients with bone metastases due to breast cancer, prostate cancer, or multiple myeloma.

Harold L. Moses, MD, of Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors for his research on growth factors and tumor suppressor genes, as well as his and his colleagues’ groundbreaking work isolating and purifying transforming growth factor beta (TGF-ß), which they discovered could inhibit cell proliferation.


In Memoriam

Laurence Boxer, MD

Milton D. Hyman, MD

Charles A. LeMaistre, MD

Enrico Mihich, MD

Albert H. Owens, MD, FASCO

Robert J. Schweitzer, MD

Back to Top