2016 Special Award Recipients: Blazing New Paths in Oncology

Apr 25, 2016

ASCO confers Special Awards during the Annual Meeting to recognize innovative and dedicated clinicians, researchers, patient advocates, teachers, philanthropists, and leaders of the global oncology community who have made significant contributions to the advancement of cancer care. Don’t miss the opportunity to hear trailblazing leaders in the field deliver engaging lectures on their areas of expertise.

David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture
Presented during the Opening Session, Saturday, June 4, 9:30 AM

Paul A. Bunn Jr., MD, is a Distinguished Professor of Medicine and the James Dudley Endowed Professor of Lung Cancer at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, and the principal investigator of the SPORE in Lung Cancer grant at the University of Colorado. Dr. Bunn has dedicated his career to identifying novel diagnostics and treatment strategies for lung cancer and improving the outcomes of patients with lung cancer.

Science Of Oncology Award and Lecture
Presented during the Plenary Session, Sunday, June 5, 1:00 PM

William G. Kaelin Jr., MD, is a Professor of Medicine at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, and senior physician at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Dr. Kaelin has dedicated years of research to understanding how mutations in tumor-suppressor genes affect cancer development. His work on the VHL protein was instrumental for subsequent successful development of VEGF inhibitors to treat kidney cancer.

Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award and Lecture
Presented on Saturday, June 4, 4:45 PM

C. Kent Osborne, MD, is a Professor of Medicine and Molecular and Cellular Biology and Director of the Dan L. Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine. His research on hormone pathways involved in breast cancer has been instrumental in identifying fulvestrant as the most potent endocrine therapy. His pioneering research on the mechanisms of resistance to targeted endocrine therapies has had direct implications on the lives of patients with breast cancer.

B.J. Kennedy Award and Lecture For Scientific Excellence in Geriatric Oncology
Presented on Monday, June 6, 9:45 AM

Pierre Soubeyran, MD, PhD, has dedicated his career to helping older patients with cancer. From designing trials for non-Hodgkin lymphoma to implementing screening methods, Dr. Soubeyran has championed the care of older patients in the United States and in his home country of France. His work was critical to the development of geriatric oncology at both the clinical and research level.

Pediatric Oncology Award and Lecture
Presented on Sunday, June 5, 11:30 AM

As a pediatric oncologist in the Department of Pediatrics at The University of Chicago, Susan L. Cohn, MD, is passionate about improving outcomes for children with cancer, especially patients with neuroblastoma. She is being recognized for her leadership in the development of a series of risk-based clinical trials to improve treatment for low- and intermediaterisk neuroblastoma and survival for high-risk patients. A seminal randomized COG study demonstrated the efficacy of immunotherapy plus isotretinoin, leading to the FDA approval of dinutuximab in March 2015.

ASCO-American Cancer Society Award and Lecture
Presented on Monday, June 6, 3:00 PM

Ethan Dmitrovsky, MD, is the Provost and Executive Vice President of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. He is being recognized for his groundbreaking work in retinoid differentiation therapy for acute promyelocytic leukemia.

Distinguished Achievement Award
Presented during the President’s Dinner, Friday, June 3

David H. Johnson, MD, is Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Johnson has had a decades-long career in internal medicine and oncology, and he currently mentors the next generation of physicians at UT so that they are able to make a profound impact in medicine.

Humanitarian Award
Presented during the Opening Session, Saturday, June 4, 9:30 AM

Quyen Chu, MD, MBA, FACS, is Chief of Surgical Oncology and the Charles Knight, Sr. Endowed Professor of Surgery at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in Shreveport. His simple but profound belief that proper treatment for all patients with cancer will produce similar outcomes of care has led Dr. Chu to countries like Vietnam, Iraq, and Nicaragua in hopes of improving cancer care for patients in low-income countries. ASCO has awarded Dr. Chu its Humanitarian Award for going above and beyond the call of duty in providing outstanding patient care.

Excellence In Teaching Award
Presented during the President’s Dinner, Friday, June 3

Philip C. Hoffman, MD, is a Professor of Medicine in the Section of Hematology/Oncology at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine. He was one of the original Masters of the Academy of Distinguished Medical Educators at Pritzker and has been honored as a favorite faculty member 25 times by the graduating medical students.

Special Recognition Award
Presented during the President’s Dinner, Friday, June 3

Waun Ki Hong, MD, FACP, DMSc (Hon), is a pioneer in oncology, advocating for chemoprevention of epithelial cancers and emphasizing the importance of personalized cancer therapy. Dr. Hong’s expertise spans more than 36 years of translational and clinical research. His recent achievements include the development of biopsy-mandated, personalized, targeted therapy for lung cancer based on genetic abnormalities in tumor tissue.

Partners in Progress Award
Presented on Sunday, June 5, 11:30 AM

Susan G. Braun, MA, FASCO, is Chief Executive Officer of The V Foundation for Cancer Research. She is being recognized for her service in leadership roles at several major cancer nonprofit organizations over the past 20 years.

Fellows of the American Society of Clinical Oncology
Presented during the Opening Session, Saturday, June 4, 9:30 AM

The Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (FASCO) distinction recognizes ASCO members for their extraordinary volunteer service, dedication, and commitment to ASCO.

  • Ethan M. Basch, MD, MSc
  • Susan L. Cohn, MD
  • Mary L. Disis, MD
  • Gini F. Fleming, MD
  • Jennifer J. Griggs, MD, MPH
  • Dawn L. Hershman, MD
  • Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP
  • Joseph O. Jacobson, MD
  • Rogerio Lilenbaum, MD
  • David R. Spriggs, MD
  • Alan P. Venook, MD
  • Victor G. Vogel, MD, MHS
  • Sandra L. Wong, MD, MS
Back to Top