Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation, Awards More Than $7 Million to Support Cancer Research

May 31, 2019

Conquer Cancer®, the ASCO Foundation, announced the 2019 recipients of its Advanced Clinical Research Award in Breast Cancer, Career Development Awards, Young Investigator Awards, and Global Oncology Young Investigator Awards. These awards provide funding to early to mid-career oncologists conducting clinical research across the cancer care continuum. Research projects conducted by this year's awardees seek to provide additional insight into precision medicine, psychosocial and supportive care, use of digital technologies, and liquid biopsy application. 
"Conquer Cancer is proud to support the next generation of clinical cancer researchers, who in the years to come, will advance our collective understanding of cancer and further propel progress against cancer," said Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD, FASCO, chair of the Conquer Cancer Board of Directors.
Advanced Clinical Research Award (ACRA) 
The ACRA supports physician-scientists committed to conducting original breast cancer research in an area not currently funded. The 2019 Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO/Breast Cancer Research Foundation® ACRA recipient is Heather L. McArthur, MD, MPH, of Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. Dr. McArthur will receive $450,000 over the next three years to support her research, "A randomized phase 2 study of peri-operative ipilimumab, nivolumab and cryoablation versus standard peri-operative care in women with hormone receptor-negative, HER2-negative early stage/resectable breast cancer."
Career Development Award (CDA)
The CDA provides research funding to clinical investigators, who have received an initial faculty appointment, as they work to establish an independent clinical cancer research program. Research must have a patient-oriented focus. Conquer Cancer recognizes 16 oncologists with this award, who each will receive $200,000 over three years. Click here for the full list of recipients and their research projects.
Young Investigator Awards (YIA)
The YIA is a research grant that supports promising investigators during a physician's pivotal career transition from a fellowship program to a faculty appointment. In 2019, Conquer Cancer honors 69 cancer researchers with YIAs,  including endowed YIAs, which honor the legacies of those for whom the awards are named and enable Conquer Cancer to support these grants in perpetuity.
This year, Conquer Cancer recognizes three new endowed YIAs.
Supported by family and friends of the late Arti Hurria, MD, FASCO, ASCO and Conquer Cancer established the Endowed Young Investigator Award in Geriatric Oncology in honor of Dr. Arti Hurria. Dr. Hurria was a member of ASCO's Board of Directors and a giant in the field of geriatric oncology.
The Frist Family Endowed Young Investigator Award in honor of Howard A. Burris, III, MD, is funded by Dr. and Mrs. Thomas F. Frist, Jr., Mr. and Mrs. Charles and Trisha Elcan, Howard A. Burris, III, MD, and Sarah Cannon Research Institute.
The Victoria H. Montgomery Endowed Young Investigator Award is funded by Victoria H. Montgomery.
Global Oncology Young Investigator Awards (GO YIA)
Now in its second year, Conquer Cancer's GO YIAs support early-career researchers in projects that are designed to explore strategies to lessen the global burden of cancer. This year, six oncologists from around the globe are recognized.
The 2019 Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO/Breast Cancer Research Foundation® Advanced Clinical Research Award is sponsored by the Breast Cancer Research Foundation®.
The 2019 Career Development Awards are supported by AbbVie, Inc.; Astellas; AstraZeneca; the Breast Cancer Research Foundation®; Genentech BioOncology™; Lilly; Sarcoma Foundation of America; TESARO, a GSK Company; and Generous Supporters of the Women Who Conquer Cancer. 
The 2019 Young Investigator Awards are supported by Anonymous, AbbVie, Inc.; American Association for Cancer Research; the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO); the ASCO Clinical Practice Committee & State Affiliate Council; the Association of Northern California Oncologists; AstraZeneca; Boehringer Ingelheim International GmbH; Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; the Breast Cancer Research Foundation®; Bristol-Myers Squibb; Howard A. Burris, III, MD; Carson Leslie Foundation; Celgene Corporation; Choose Chicago; Mr. and Mrs. Charles and Trisha Elcan; the Florida Society of Clinical Oncology; Dr. and Mrs. Thomas F. Frist, Jr.; Gateway for Cancer Research; Genentech BioOncology™; Gilead Sciences, Inc.; GO2 Foundation for Lung Cancer; The Hayden Family Foundation; Hearst Foundations; HELSINN; Friends and Family of Dr. Arti Hurria; Incyte Corporation; the Journal of Clinical Oncology; the Kidney Cancer Association; Alan and Judith Kaur; The John and Elizabeth Leonard Family Foundation; Lilly; Loxo Oncology Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Eli Lilly and Company; ME STRONG; Merck & Co., Inc.; Victoria H. Montgomery; Nebraska Oncology Society; Greg Parekh/ New Rhein Healthcare, LLC; Colleagues, Friends, and Family of Drs. Debra and Hanoch Patt and Dr. Gladys Rodriguez; Puma Biotechnology, Inc.; The Norman & Ruth Rales Foundation; Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD, FASCO, and Susan M. DaSilva, PhD; the Sarah Cannon Research Institute; the Sarcoma Foundation of America; Aaron and Barbro Sasson; Stephen A. Sherwin, MD; The Sontag Foundation; the Strike 3 Foundation; Swim Across America; the Texas Society of Clinical Oncology; Tomasello Family; the Wilky Family; the Generous Supporters of the Women Who Conquer Cancer; Women Leaders in Oncology; and The WWWW Foundation Inc. (QuadW) and The Sarcoma Fund of the QuadW Foundation of Communities Foundation of Texas.
The 2019 Global Oncology Young Investigator Awards are supported by the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO); Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; and Bristol-Myers Squibb.

Back to Top