September 2017 Member News

Sep 06, 2017

George J. Bosl, MD, MACP, FASCO,  retired from his position as the Patrick M. Byrne Chair in Clinical Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Over the course of his career, Dr. Bosl helped identify more effective and less toxic treatments for testicular cancer, a marker chromosome for germ-cell tumors that allows more specific treatment for this disease, and led studies that may help oncologists better understand why these tumors spread and fail to respond to treatment.

James E. Carinder, DO, FACP, was featured in the International Association of HealthCare Professionals’ publication The Leading Physicians of the World.

Luis A. Diaz, MD, has been named head of the Division of Solid Tumor Oncology in the Department of Medicine at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Dr. Diaz most recently served as associate professor of oncology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

Obiageli C. Ezewuiro, MD, has joined Baptist Health Medical Group Hematology & Oncology. She completed her hematology and oncology fellowship at the University of Chicago.

An opinion piece by Jeffrey E. Gershenwald, MD, “Skin Cancer Is on the Rise, Focus on Prevention,” was published in Newsweek in May 2017. Dr. Gershenwald is a melanoma specialist and a professor of surgical oncology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.

Anne Katz, PhD, RN, FAAN, a certified sexuality counselor at CancerCare Manitoba and nurse counselor at the Manitoba Prostate Centre, authored the book A Healthcare Provider’s Guide to Obesity and Cancer, published by the Oncology Nursing Society.

Amy L. Matecki, MD, has been reappointed to the California Acupuncture Board, where she has served since 2016. Dr. Matecki has been a consultant for integrative medicine and an internal medicine hospitalist at Northern California Hematology and Oncology Consultants Inc. since 2004.

Clarissa Mathias, MD, of Nucleo de Oncologia da Bahia, was elected chair of Latin America for the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer for a 4-year term.

Sonali M. Smith, MD, was named the first Elwood V. Jensen Professor in Medicine at the University of Chicago. Dr. Smith chairs ASCO’s Women in Oncology Working Group and is the incoming chair of the Society’s Continuous Professional Development Committee.

Edgar D. Staren, MD, PhD, MBA, was appointed president of TransMed7, LLC, a medical and technology organization focused on the highly efficient development of innovative, minimally invasive medical devices aimed at providing new solutions for doctors and their patients.

Gary D. Steinberg, MD, presented interim clinical data from the phase II trial (BOND2) evaluating an investigational oncolytic virotherapy, CG0070, in patients with BCG-unresponsive, non–muscle-invasive bladder cancer at the American Urological Association Annual Meeting.

Weijing Sun, MD, FACP, has been appointed the new Sprint Foundation Professor of Medical Oncology and the director of the Division of Medical Oncology at The University of Kansas School of Medicine and The University of Kansas Cancer Center.

Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, DPhil, a cancer immunotherapy and translational research expert, was named director of the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania and began serving in the role in July 2017. 

Back to Top