March 2019 Member News

Mar 11, 2019

Theresa Guise, MD, has been awarded a Department of Defense grant to explore a cascade of events that decrease quality of life and treatment responses for patients with metastatic bone cancer.

American University of Beirut Medical Center (AUBMC) dedicated the Conference Room on the Oncology floor in the name of Nagi S. El Saghir, MD, FACP, FASCO.

ASCO chief medical officer Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FACP, FSCT, FASCO, is among the five gastrointestinal (GI) oncology professionals honored with OncLive® and The Ruesch Center for the Cure of Gastrointestinal Cancers’ 2018 Luminary Awards in GI Cancers.

Suneel D. Kamath, MD, authored a commentary, “If You Think Organic Food Can Prevent Cancer, Think Again,” in the Chicago Tribune.

Gary Unzeitig, MD, FACS, received the Richard L. Schilsky Cancer and Leukemia Group B 2018 Achievement Award from the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology Foundation.

Philip A. Salem, MD, authored the recently published book Defeating Cancer: Knowledge Alone is Not Enough.

Antonio Omuro, MD, has been appointed chief of neuro-oncology and a leader for the Brain Tumor Program at Smilow Cancer Hospital.

Lucio N. Gordan, MD, was named the new managing physician and president of Florida Cancer Specialists.

Padmanee Sharma, MD, PhD, has been recognized for her contributions to the field of immuno-oncology with the Pandolfi Award for Women in Cancer Research at the 11th Annual Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Cancer Symposium.

James L. Mulshine, MD, received the Asclepios Award from the Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation.

Scott J. Antonia MD, PhD, was the recipient of the A Breath Away From the Cure Award from the Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation.

The National Cancer Institute has awarded $6.3 million to Nicholas Mitsiades, MD, and a collaborative team at Baylor College of Medicine to establish a Minority Patient-Derived Xenograft Development and Trial Center.

Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, president of City of Hope National Medical Center, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

Martin S. Tallman, MD, was elected to a 1-year term as vice president, followed by successive terms as president-elect and president, of the American Society of Hematology (ASH).

Back to Top