July 2019 Member News

Jul 19, 2019

The 2019 Szent-Györgyi Prize for Progress in Cancer Research was awarded to Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD.

The Targeted Anticancer Therapies (TAT) 2019 Honorary Award for cancer drug development was given to Geoffrey Shapiro, PhD, MD.

Otis W. Brawley, MD, was named a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor at Johns Hopkins University.

Marcela V. Maus, MD, PhD, received a 2019 Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation Innovation Award.

WebMD recognized James P. Allison, PhD, and Elizabeth M. Jaffee, MD, FAACR, with Health Heroes Awards.

Johns Hopkins Greenberg Bladder Cancer Institute awarded a research grant to Sima P. Porten, MD, MPH.

Fred R. Hirsch, MD, PhD, was named executive director of the Center for Thoracic Oncology in The Tisch Cancer Institute at Mount Sinai, and the Richard M. Stein, MD, Joe Lowe, and Louis Price Professor of Medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) and the Lung Cancer Initiative at Johnson & Johnson (LCI) announced Jianjun Zhang, MD, PhD; John V. Heymach, MD, PhD; and Harvey I. Pass, MD, as the inaugural recipients of the AACR–Johnson & Johnson Lung Cancer Innovation Science Grants.

Charles L. Sawyers, MD, FAACR, was awarded the 2019 AACR Princess Takamatsu Memorial Lectureship.

Warner K. Huh, MD, began his 1-year term as the 51st president of the Society of Gynecologic Oncology (SGO).

Antoni Ribas, MD, PhD, was elected as the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) President-Elect for 2019-2020.

Ryan C. Fields, MD, FACS, was named chief of the Section of Surgical Oncology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

Merry-Jennifer Markham, MD, FACP, was featured in the MedPage Today article “Genetic Testing Lags in Breast, Ovarian Cancer.”

Giulio Draetta, MD, PhD, was named chief scientific officer at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.

Alexandra Levine, MD, MACP, received the Margaret L. Kripke Legend Award for Promotion of Women in Cancer Medicine and Cancer Science from City of Hope.

ASCO chief medical officer Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FACP, FSCT, FASCO, was featured in the Wired article “A Clever New Strategy for Treating Cancer, Thanks to Darwin.”

Mohammad Jahanzeb, MD, FACP, FASCO, will lead the newly formed Florida Precision Oncology practice of 21st Century Oncology.

Jan Trøst Jørgensen, MS Pharm, PhD, published “Twenty Years with Personalized Medicine: Past, Present, and Future of Individualized Pharmacotherapy” in The Oncologist.

Rutgers Cancer Institute director Steven K. Libutti, FACS, MD, led the center to a $15.1 million award from the National Cancer Institute (NCI) for its 2019 redesignation as New Jersey’s only NCI-designated comprehensive cancer center.

Share Your Professional Achievements

ASCO Connection is excited to share your good news with the ASCO membership. Tell us about your new job, promotion, award, honor, publication, or other professional achievements at ascoconnection@asco.org.



Back to Top