ASCO Welcomes 2019-2020 Board of Directors

Jul 19, 2019

ASCO is pleased to welcome the 2019–2020 Board of Directors and introduce the newly instated leaders who began their terms at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting during the 2019 ASCO Annual Meeting.

Board Officers

2019-2020 President

Howard A. “Skip” Burris, III, MD, FACP, FASCO, is president and chief medical officer of Sarah Cannon, as well as the executive director, Drug Development for the research institute. He is an associate of Tennessee Oncology, PLLC, where he practices medical oncology.


Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO, is a radiation oncologist, professor, and vice provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs at the University of Michigan, and director of the Michigan Radiation Oncology Quality Consortium.

Chair of the Board

Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, FACS, FASCO, is a professor of surgery at Harvard Medical School, and an associate surgeon at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.


Laurie E. Gaspar, MD, MBA, FASTRO, FACR, is a professor emerita in the Department of Radiation Oncology at the University of Colorado, as well as a staff radiation oncologist at Banner MDA in Northern Colorado.


Pediatric Oncologist

Peter C. Adamson, MD, is chair of the Children’s Oncology Group, president of the Children’s Oncology Group Foundation, holds the Alan R. Cohen Endowed Chair in Pediatrics, and is a professor of pediatrics and pharmacology at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Undesignated Specialty

Ethan M. Basch, MD, MSc, FASCO, is a medical oncologist and professor of hematology-oncology and health policy & management at the University of North Carolina (UNC), where he is also the director of the cancer outcomes research program at the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Radiation Oncologist

A. William Blackstock, MD, FASCO, is a professor and chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at the Wake Forest University (WFU) School of Medicine and director of the Clinical Research Program at the Comprehensive Cancer Center at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center.

Undesignated Specialty​

Lee M. Ellis, MD, FACS, FASCO, is the William C. Liedtke Jr. Chair in Cancer Research and a professor in the Departments of Surgical Oncology and Molecular & Cellular Oncology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC), as well as the vice chair of Translational Medicine at SWOG.

Undesignated Specialty

Maha H. A. Hussain, MD, FACP, FASCO, is the Genevieve Teuton Professor of Medicine in the Division of Hematology Oncology, Department of Medicine, and the deputy director and leader of the GU Oncology Program at the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

Undesignated Specialty

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, FASTRO, is the Newman Family Professor and deputy chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology and director of the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine at the University of Michigan, where she is residency program director, treats breast cancer, and conducts health services research.

Community Oncologist

Michael P. Kosty, MD, FACP, FASCO, is a member of the Scripps Green Cancer Center. He serves as the director, head of the Thoracic Oncology Service, and a member of the Genitourinary Oncology Service and Dermatologic Oncology Service at Scripps Green Cancer Center, and director of Graduate Medical Education and director of the Hematology/Oncology Fellow Training Program at Scripps Clinic/Scripps Green Hospital.

Surgical Oncologist

Elizabeth A. Mittendorf, MD, PhD, is the Rob and Karen Hale Distinguished Chair in Surgical Oncology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, associate chair of Research for the Department of Surgery, and director of the Breast Immuno-Oncology Program at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

International Oncologist

Tony S. K. Mok, BMSc, MD, FRCP(C), FRCP (Edin.), FHKCP, FHKAM (Medicine), FASCO, is the Li Shu Fan Medical Foundation Named Professor of Clinical Oncology and chair of Clinical Oncology at The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong).

Undesignated Specialty

Blase N. Polite, MD, MPP, FASCO, is an associate professor of medicine, deputy section chief for Clinical Operations, and executive medical director for Cancer Accountable Care at the University of Chicago, where he currently oversees the negotiations and implementation of several alternative payment models for the cancer center.

Medical Oncologist

Eric J. Small, MD, FASCO, is the deputy director and chief scientific officer of the UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of California, San Francisco, and professor in residence in the Department of Medicine and Department of Urology.

Community Oncologist

Michael A. Thompson, MD, PhD, FASCO, is a medical oncologist and hematologist and is the medical director for the Early Phase Cancer Research Program as well as the co-director of the Oncology Precision Medicine Program at Advocate Aurora Health.Community Oncologist

Tracey F. Weisberg, MD, FASCO, is the lead physician of New England Cancer Specialists, manages an active breast cancer practice, has been a principal investigator on 40 clinical trials, and oversees medical house staff at the Maine Medical Center Oncology inpatient unit.

International Oncologist

Jaap Verweij, MD, PhD, FASCO, is a medical oncologist and currently vice-dean of the Faculty of Medicine at Erasmus University, Rotterdam, the Netherlands, as well as the founding dean of the Faculty of Life Sciences at the University of Siegen, Germany.

Ex-Officio Members

Chief Executive Officer

Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO, is the CEO of ASCO and Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation. Previously he served as the chief of the Breast Medicine Service and attending physician at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and a professor of medicine at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University.

Chair, Conquer Cancer, the ASCOFoundation

Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD, FASCO, is a managing member and portfolio manager at Farallon Capital Management, LLC. Prior to joining Farallon, Dr. Roberts was an attending oncologist at Massachusetts General Hospital, an instructor of medicine at the Harvard Medical School, and a visiting scientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

ASCO Thanks 2019-2020 Volunteers

ASCO and the Board of Directors extend their sincere gratitude to the members who are serving on and leading the Society’s various committees, steering groups, working groups, task forces, editorial boards, councils, and other volunteer groups. The success of ASCO and Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation, would not be possible without the time, talent, expertise, and creativity of these generous volunteers.

Back to Top