Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

July 2022 Member News

Jul 20, 2022

The American Board of Internal Medicine appointed the following individuals to serve on their Medical Oncology Approval Committees: Pamela N. Munster, MD, Bartosz Chmielowski, MD, PhD, Manish A. Shah, MD, FASCO, and Lori J. Wirth, MD, will serve on the Traditional, 10-Year MOC Exam Committee; Dipti Patel-Donnelly, MD, Deborah K. Armstrong, MD, Robert Dreicer, MD, MACP, FASCO, MS, and Nina J. Karlin, MD, FACP, will serve on the Longitudinal Knowledge Assessment Committee.
ASCO presented its Advocate of the Year Award to Edward Balaban, DO, FACP, FASCO
Elizabeth Plimack, MD, MS, has been appointed deputy director at Fox Chase Cancer Center.
Jeremy Warner, MD, will transition from an associate editor role to deputy editor for JCO Clinical Cancer Informatics (JCO CCI).
UC Davis Department of Surgery appointed Robert J. Canter, MD, as division chief of surgical oncology.
Margaret von Mehren, MD, will serve as vice chair of the Department of Hematology/Oncology at Fox Chase Cancer Center.
OneOncology announced that Davey Daniel, MD, was appointed chief medical officer.
Monica Bertagnolli, MD, FACS, FASCO, was elected to the Prevent Cancer Foundation’s Board of Directors. The Prevent Cancer Foundation announced funding for seven scientists who are researching cancer prevention and early detection, including Suzanne M. Miller-Halegoua, PhD, and Lisa D. Yee, MD
Philip A. Philip, FRCP, PhD, MD, joined Henry Ford Cancer Institute as director of gastrointestinal oncology and neuroendocrine oncology, medical director of research and clinical care integration, and co-leader of the Henry Ford Pancreatic Cancer Center. 
The Leukemia Committee of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology announced the appointment of Wendy Stock, MD, and Geoffrey Uy, MD, as co-chairs to help oversee the development of improved clinical approaches to leukemia.
B.J. Rimel, MD, was named medical director of the Cedars-Sinai Cancer Clinical Trials Office.
Janice Mehnert, MD, will serve as co-chair of the ECOG-ACRIN Melanoma Committee.
Efrat E. Dotan, MD, will serve as vice chair of the NCI Pancreas Task Force.
The American Cancer Society named Arif Kamal, MD, MBA, MHS, FACP, FAAHPM, FASCO, as its first chief patient officer.
The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) selected Lee M. Ellis, MD, FACS, FASCO, as the 2022 recipient of the AACR Daniel D. Von Hoff Award for Outstanding Contributions to Education and Training in Cancer Research.
William Pao, MD, PhD, Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, DPhil, Susan M. Domchek, FASCO, MD, Antoni Ribas, MD, PhD, FAACR, and Sheila A. Stewart, PhD, will serve on the Board of Directors for AACR for the 2022-2025 term.
Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, DPhil, was appointed to a second 5-year term as director of the Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania.
David Braun, MD, PhD, joined the Prostate and Urologic Cancers Program at Yale Cancer Center.
In Memoriam
Donald Paul Pinkel, MD; Paul Farmer, MD, PhD; Leonard A. Kosova, MD; Jay Burton, DO
The ASCO Post contributed reporting.

Back to Top