Global Volunteer Month: Honoring and Celebrating the Impact of ASCO's Volunteers

Global Volunteer Month: Honoring and Celebrating the Impact of ASCO's Volunteers

ASCO Commentary

Apr 22, 2024

By 2023-2024 ASCO President Lynn M. Schuchter, MD, FASCO

During this Global Volunteer Month and National Volunteer Week, I would like to take the opportunity to honor and celebrate the impact of our many volunteers, who serve as the backbone to the work of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (Society) and Association for Clinical Oncology (Association).

We recognize that volunteer service requires a great deal of time and effort, and we are grateful for the energy our volunteers expend in providing their thought leadership, expertise, and perspectives from all aspects of cancer care. Without our volunteers, we could not accomplish all that we do, disseminating the latest research, education, and best practices in our mission to promote the highest quality, equitable patient care.

On behalf of ASCO leadership, staff, and the Boards of Directors, I’d like to thank all of our volunteers for their many contributions and dedicated volunteer service. We appreciate their continued commitment to our field, their dedication to the Society and Association missions, and the invaluable leadership and insight they provide.

We also would like to recognize and thank our volunteers who are taking on new committee assignments. We are grateful for their time and excited to see where they lead their respective groups.

Newly Appointed ASCO Committee Leaders*:

Erika Ruiz-Garcia, MD, MS
Instituto Nacional de Cancerología, Mexico
Chair-Elect, Annual Meeting Education Program Committee

Amy Jo Chien, MD
University of California, San Francisco
Chair-Elect, Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee

Jane Lowe Meisel, MD
Emory University
Chair-Elect, Cancer Communications Committee

Christian A. Thomas, MD
New England Cancer Specialists
Chair-Elect, Clinical Practice Committee

Kevin Kalinsky, MD, MS
Winship Cancer Institute – Emory
Chair-Elect, Conquer Cancer Foundation Grants Selection Committee

Steve Young Lee, MD, FACP
Kaiser Permanente Oakland Medical Center
Chair-Elect, Coverage & Reimbursement Steering Group

Sam Brondfield, MD, MA
The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco
Chair-Elect, Education Council

Christopher S. Lathan
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Chair-Elect, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Leslie J. Hinyard, PhD, MSW
Saint Louis University
Chair-Elect, Ethics Committee

Eric Roeland, MD, FASCO, FAAHPM
Oregon Health and Science University
Chair-Elect, Evidence-Based Medicine Committee

Ashley Love Sumrall, MD, FACP, FASCO
Levine Cancer Institute/Carolinas Medical Center
Chair-Elect, Government Relations Committee

Niharika Dixit, MD
University of California, San Francisco
Chair-Elect, Health Policy Committee

Monica Malik, MD, DNB
Nizam’s Institute Of Medical Sciences, India
Chair-Elect, International Affairs Committee

Rejin Kebudi, MD
Istanbul University, Oncology Institute, Turkey
Chair-Elect, International Development and Education Award (IDEA) Steering Group

Meredith Elana Giuliani, PhD, FASCO, MBBS, FRCP, MEd, FRCPC
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre—University Health Network, Canada
Chair-Elect, International Education Steering Group

Carlos Frederico Pinto, MD, MBA
Instituto de Oncologia do Vale, Brazil
Chair-Elect, International Quality Steering Group

Issam Makhoul, MD
CARTI Cancer Center
Chair-Elect, Joint Certifications Committee

Emily Miller Ray, MD, MPH
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chair-Elect, Measures Steering Group

Joshua E. Reuss, MD
Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
Chair-Elect, Membership Advisory Committee

Lori J. Rosenstein, MD
NCCCP Gundersen Health Systems
Chair-Elect, Oncology Training Programs Committee

Piyush Srivastava, MD, FASCO
Kaiser Permanente Walnut Creek Medical Center
Chair-Elect, Practice Quality Improvement Steering Group

Thomas John Semrad, MD, FACP, FASCO
Gene Upshaw Memorial Tahoe Forest Cancer Center
Chair-Elect, QOPI Certification Program Steering Group

Mina S. Sedrak, MD, MS
David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles
Chair-Elect, Research Committee

Mark Henderson, MD
Columbus Regional Health Cancer Center
Chair-Elect, State Affiliate Council

Ibiayi Dagogo-Jack, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital
Chair-Elect, Taxonomy Committee

For the Society and Association’s other volunteers, we hope that they will remain active in the volunteer program and encourage colleagues to volunteer as well.

“Being an ASCO volunteer is truly a unique experience, and my time as the State Affiliate Council chair-elect for ASCO has been absolutely incredible," said Emily Touloukian, DO. "One of the biggest benefits is getting to work closely with colleagues from all over the country and having the opportunity to create a powerful network of oncologists and friends.”

ASCO’s success depends on our volunteers lending their expertise to help shape our organization, its priorities, and its programs and initiatives. This week and month we celebrate our volunteers and express to them our sincere thanks, but we are grateful to them each and every day, year round.

Here is a short video from ASCO CEO Clifford Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO, expressing his gratitude on behalf of all of us at ASCO.

*Chair-elects who have accepted their new committee position as of April 23, 2024.


The ideas and opinions expressed on the ASCO Connection Blogs do not necessarily reflect those of ASCO. None of the information posted on is intended as medical, legal, or business advice, or advice about reimbursement for health care services. The mention of any product, service, company, therapy or physician practice on does not constitute an endorsement of any kind by ASCO. ASCO assumes no responsibility for any injury or damage to persons or property arising out of or related to any use of the material contained in, posted on, or linked to this site, or any errors or omissions.
Back to Top