Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

November 2021 Member News

Oct 27, 2021

Several ASCO members were honored with induction into the 2021 OncLive Giants of Cancer Care class on November 4, 2021. The honorees include ASCO chief medical officer and executive vice president Julie R. Gralow, MD, FACP, FASCO; Daniel G. Haller, MD, FACP, FRCP, FASCO; Toni K. Choueiri, MD; Robert C. Young, MD, FASCO; Richard M. Stone, MD; Pasi A. Jänne, MD, PhD; Steven T. Rosen, MD, FACP, FASCO; Michael B. Atkins, MD; Paul G. Richardson, MD; Richard J. O’Reilly, MD; Matthew L. Meyerson, MD, PhD; Walter J. Curran Jr., MD, FACR, FASCO; and Dawn L. Hershman, MD, FASCO.
The Division of Oncology at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) has appointed Sarah Tasian, MD, as chief of the Section of Hematologic Malignancies.
Shilpa Gupta, MD, was appointed director of genitourinary medical oncology at Taussig Cancer Institute and co-leader of the Genitourinary Oncology Program at Cleveland Clinic.
The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) and the NCCN Foundation have announced six new recipients for the 2021 NCCN Foundation Young Investigator Awards Program, including Deborah Stephens, DO, and Caitlin Zebley, MD, PhD.
Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MBBS, FACP, FASCO, will receive the William L. McGuire Memorial Lecture Award at the 2021 San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium.
Hao Liu, MD, PhD, will serve as a professor in the Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology at Rutgers School of Public Health, director of the Biostatistics Shared Resource, and a resident researcher at Rutgers Cancer Institute.
Robert Winn, MD, was elected to serve as vice president/president-elect of the Board of Directors for the Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI), and Ruben A. Mesa, MD, FACP, and Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, DPhil, were elected as new Board members for AACI.
The European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) announced that Winette van der Graaf, MD, PhD, will serve as EORTC president-elect.
Karen Marie Winkfield, MD, PhD, was recently promoted to professor of radiation oncology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.
GO2 Foundation for Lung Cancer (GO2 Foundation) presented Heather A. Wakelee, MD, FASCO, with the 2021 Bonnie J. Addario Lectureship Award at the Physicians’ Education Resource 22nd Annual International Lung Cancer Congress.
Jennifer A. Crozier, MD, assistant professor and director of breast cancer research at Baptist MD Anderson Cancer Center, was recognized by the University of Georgia Alumni Association as part of its 40 Under 40 Class of 2021. This program celebrates the personal, professional, and philanthropic achievements of successful UGA graduates under age 40.
Baptist MD Anderson Cancer Center named Michael R. Olson, MD, PhD, as head of the Division of Radiation Oncology. Dr. Olson was one of the original 11 faculty physicians at Baptist MD Anderson, and has led the expansion of radiation oncology services through his leadership roles at Baptist Health and Baptist MD Anderson.
In Memoriam
Franco M. Muggia, MD
Clayton D. “Dunk” Pruett
Rajasekharan Somasundaram, PhD
The ASCO Post contributed reporting.

Back to Top