May 2019 Member News

Apr 24, 2019

The European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO) bestowed the ESMO Award 2018 on Jean-Charles Soria, MD, PhD.

Cancer.Net editor in chief Lidia Schapira, MD, FASCO, was featured in the New York Times article “When Cancer Meets the Internet.”

Anand Shah, MD, MPH, was named senior medical advisor for innovation at the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

ASCO CEO Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO, was featured on CBS’s television news coverage of the American Cancer Society’s report on the rise in obesity-related cancers among young adults.

ASCO expert Michael S. Sabel, MD, FACS, was featured in the article “What Exactly Is Cancer Immunotherapy—and Who Does It Benefit?” on

The National Academy of Inventors named Louis M. Weiner, MD, director of the Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center, to its 2018 class of fellows.

Robin Zon, MD, FACP, FASCO, was elected president of Michiana Hematology Oncology.

Anil K. Rustgi, MD, was named director of the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University Irving Medical Center and NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center.

The International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) announced Dave Mesko, MBA, as its new chief executive officer.

Rishi Jain, MD, MS, DABOM, joined Fox Chase Cancer Center as an assistant professor in the Gastrointestinal Medical Oncology Program.

Grace Lu-Yao, MPH, PhD, was honored with the International Society of Geriatric Oncology (SIOG) 2018 Nursing and Allied Health Investigator Award at the SIOG 2018 Annual Conference.

Nicholas J. Petrelli, MD, FACS, FASCO, received the Annual Commendation for Excellence from Christiana Care’s Medical-Dental Staff.

Kirk Tanner, PhD, was named chief scientific officer of the National Brain Tumor Society.

Amy Abernethy, MD, PhD, will serve as principal deputy commissioner of Food and Drugs for the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

V. Craig Jordan, OBE, PhD, DSc, received the 2019 Reynold Spector Award in Clinical Pharmacology.

Julian Schink, MD, was appointed chief medical officer of Cancer Treatment Centers of America.

Kevin Gale, of the University of Minnesota, authored an opinion article, “Inappropriate Celebration in the Presence of Patients With Poor Prognosis—The Cancer Center Victory Bell,” in JAMA Oncology.

Miriam A. Knoll, MD, became a contributor to Forbes and authored “How Social Media Can Advance Cancer Research.”

WebMD recognized Karen M. Winkfield, MD, PhD, as its 2018 Advocate Health Hero for her efforts in working for equal access to high-quality cancer care.

Back to Top