Conquer Cancer Announces Two New Board Members

Mar 06, 2019

ASCO's Conquer Cancer Foundation welcomes two new members to its Board of Directors in 2019. Leading clinical expert on testicular cancer Craig R. Nichols, MD, FACP, FASCO, and business leader Riccardo Braglia will help guide Conquer Cancer in its support of education and researchers seeking dramatic advances in the prevention, treatment, and cures for all types of cancer.

“The Conquer Cancer Board of Directors is comprised of accomplished leaders who volunteer their valuable time and talents to help us advance our mission,” said Board chair Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD, FASCO. “We are grateful for their participation and warmly welcome our two newest Board members, whose skills and expertise strengthen our collective ability to fuel more breakthroughs in cancer care.” 

Craig R. Nichols, MD, FACP, FASCO, currently serves as a SWOG executive officer primarily responsible for research support committees, quality, and innovation. In particular, he is the executive liaison with Adolescent and Young Adult Oncology, Digital Engagement, and Patient Advocacy Committees. He began his academic career on the faculty at Indiana University.  His mid-career was as division chief and vice vhair of the Cancer Center at Oregon Health and Science University.  He has been involved in oncology leadership through board positions with Leukemia Lymphoma Society and LIVESTRONG. Since joining ASCO in 1986, Dr. Nichols has served the Society in numerous volunteer capacities, including as a member of the CancerLinQ Board of Governors and the ASCO Board as treasurer.

With more than 30 years of international experience in the pharmaceutical industry, Riccardo Braglia heads the family-run, privately-owned pharmaceutical company Helsinn Group, which is strongly committed to improving the everyday lives of people with cancer. Founded in 1976, Helsinn Group maintains a worldwide presence and focus on oncology therapeutics and supportive care. Mr. Braglia is Helsinn Group’s vice chairman and CEO, managing director and member of Helsinn Holding’s Board of Directors in Switzerland, and on the Executive Committee for Helsinn Group’s strategic management.

Additionally, the following members of the Board of Directors have been reappointed for another 3-year term:

  • Lawrence H. Einhorn, MD, FASCO  
  • Thomas A. Marsland, MD, FASCO
  • Steven T. Rosen, MD, FACP, FASCO  
  • Sandra Swain MD, FACP, FASCO  
  • Margaret Tempero, MD, FASCO  

View the full Board of Directors.

Back to Top