The Institute of Medicine's New Members

The Institute of Medicine's New Members

George W. Sledge, MD, FASCO

Nov 20, 2011

The Institute of Medicine is the branch of the National Academy of Sciences that serves, in the words of its own website, as “an independent, nonprofit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public.” ASCO has worked closely with the Institute on a number of projects, most recently our fruitful collaboration over the cooperative group system.

Membership in the IOM is a high honor for a physician. This year’s new members, recently announced, include several who have contributed to our Society over the years. Two in particular bear notice: Karen H. Antman and Nancy E. Davidson, prior to their election to the IOM, served as President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology. Congratulations to both Karen and Nancy, who are certainly deserving of this recognition, and who have contributed so much to our field over the years.

Just to show that there is life after ASCO presidency, Karen Antman serves as Dean of the Boston University School of Medicine, and Nancy Davidson leads the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute. I’ve known them both for a long time, and couldn’t be happier for them. Kudos!


The ideas and opinions expressed on the ASCO Connection Blogs do not necessarily reflect those of ASCO. None of the information posted on is intended as medical, legal, or business advice, or advice about reimbursement for health care services. The mention of any product, service, company, therapy or physician practice on does not constitute an endorsement of any kind by ASCO. ASCO assumes no responsibility for any injury or damage to persons or property arising out of or related to any use of the material contained in, posted on, or linked to this site, or any errors or omissions.

Back to Top