Home > Magazine > Society

January 2011 Member News and Networking

Jan 04, 2011

Alan Hilary Calvert, MD, of the University College London Partners, United Kingdom, received the 2010 European Society for Medical Oncology Congress Lifetime Achievement Award for his work in introducing carboplatin as a major anticancer agent for patients with ovarian cancer, and for his role in the development of antifolates (raltitrexed and pemetrexed) and PARP inhibitors.

Kristen M. Carr-O’Dwyer, MD, of Rochester University Medical Center, joined the institution’s Wilmot Cancer Center team, where she works on translational research in leukemia as well as myelodysplasia and myeloproliferative diseases.

Board of Directors member Eduardo L. Cazap, MD, was designated by Argentine President Cristina Fernández de Kirchner as Deputy Director of the recently launched National Cancer Institute (NCI) of Argentina.

Carletta M. Collins, MD, joined Baptist Medical Group of Pensacola, Florida, as a hematologist/medical oncologist.

Philip J. DiSaia, MD, of the University of California Irvine Medical Center, was elected as Gynecologic Oncology Group (GOG) Chair for a third term. As Group Chair, Dr. DiSaia is the principal investigator of the six-year GOG cooperative group grant from NCI and is Chair of GOG’s Board of Directors and Principal Investigators committee.

Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD, FACP, has been named Chief of Medical Oncology and Associate Director for Translational Research at Yale Cancer Center. Beginning in March, Dr. Herbst will lead the section of medical oncology at Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven. Dr. Herbst comes to Yale from the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center.

Courtney A. Jensen, MD, joined Central Maine Medical Center (CMMC) as a radiation oncologist, where she practices at CMMC’s Cynthia A. Rydholm Cancer Treatment Center, in Lewiston, Maine.

V. Craig Jordan, OBE, PhD, DSc, FMedSci, was honored at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts with a Scientific & Medical Distinction Award during the celebration of the 30th anniversary of Susan G. Komen for the Cure®. The award recognized Dr. Jordan’s contributions to the discovery and development of SERMs for the treatment and prevention of breast cancer. He has also been inducted into the “Investigator Hall of Fame” by Susan G. Komen for the Cure that recognizes individuals who have advanced the mission to eradicate breast cancer. Dr. Jordan is the Scientific Director of the Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center at Georgetown University.

Damian A. Laber, MD, FACP, was named Professor of Medicine, Gussman/Adelson Chair, Chief of Hematology and Medical Oncology, and Director of the OU Tulsa Cancer Center at the University of Oklahoma (UO) in Tulsa. He was formerly Associate Professor of Medicine, Director of the Hematology and Medical Oncology Fellowship Program at the University of Louisville, and Scientist and Director of the Genitourinary Cancer Clinical Research Program at the James Graham Brown Cancer Center.

Maurie Markman, MD, is the new Vice President of Patient Oncology Services and National Director for Medical Oncology at Cancer Treatment Centers of America. Dr. Markman also serves patients as a medical oncologist at the hospital network’s Philadelphia location.

Tina Rizack, MD, MPH, joined the staff at Women & Infants Hospital of Rhode Island in the Program in Women’s Oncology. She also serves as clinical instructor of medicine at The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

Nicholas J. Sarlis, MD, PhD, joined Incyte Corporation, in Wilmington, Delaware, as Vice President and Head of Medical Affairs. He was formerly Senior Medical Director for the Oncology Portfolio–Medical Affairs at sanofiaventis U.S.

Invasion of the Prostate Snatchers: No More Unnecessary Biopsies, Radical Treatment or Loss of Sexual Potency, by Ralph H. Blum and ASCO member Mark C. Scholz, MD, of Prostate Oncology Specialists, in Marina Del Rey, California, was published in August 2010 by Other Press.

Mahesh Seetharam, MBBS, joined the Scottsdale and Phoenix offices of Arizona Oncology, which is a part US Oncology, as a medical oncologist. Dr. Seetharam is also an assistant clinical investigator at the Translational Genomics Research Institute, based at Virginia G. Piper Cancer Center at Scottsdale Healthcare.

Nicholas J. Vogelzang, MD, of the Comprehensive Cancer Centers of Nevada, which is a part of US Oncology Research, was awarded the Eugene P. Schonfeld Award from the Kidney Cancer Association. He is also Chair-Elect of the ASCO Communications Committee.

Board of Directors member Robin Zon, MD, FACP, of Michiana Hematology Oncology, began seeing patients at the group’s new cancer center location in Niles, Michigan, as part of an overall expansion of cancer care services to the greater southwest Michigan region.

In Memoriam
J. Bradley Aust, MD, PhD
Hayden G. Braine, MD
William G. Bruce, MD
Jean-Claude Bystryn, MD
Claude Y. L. Chong, MD
Solomon Estren, MD
Thomas E. Goffman, MD, FACP
James R. Grissom, MD
Samuel Gross, MD
Petre Nicolae Grozea, MD
Thomas W. Hauch, MD
Karen A. Johnson, MD, PhD, MPH
Paul J. Kaminski, MD
Mohammad Qaseem Khan, MD
Mani Kurien, MD
R. David Lauper, PharmD
George C. Lewis, MD
Victor M. Lira-Puerto, MD
Janet A. MacKinnon, MD
Brian D. Norris, MD
John Eric Olson, MD
Aaron R. Rausen, MD
Wlodzimierz Ruka, MD, PhD
Stanley A. Schwartz, MD
Bruce I. Shnider, MD, FACP, FRCP, FCCP
Harold W. Ward, MD

Back to Top