September 2018 Member News

Sep 10, 2018

Richard M. Boulay, MD, was quoted in a New York Times article, “The Strategic Lies of Oncologists.”

Brian J. Druker, MD, received the 2018 Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science for his pioneering role in shaping the fields of precision medicine and targeted cancer drugs.

ASCO CEO Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO, was honored by the Drexel University College of Medicine Alumni Association with its Lifetime Achievement Award.

Marc E. Lippman, MD, MACP, FRCP, joined the Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center in July, and serves as a professor in the Departments of Oncology and Medicine at Georgetown University Medical Center.

Jordan Berlin, MD, FASCO, was named associate director of Clinical Investigation Strategy and Shared Resources at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center.

Ben Ho Park, MD, PhD, is the new co-leader of the Breast Cancer Research Program, director of Precision Oncology, and associate director for Translational Research at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center.

C. Kent Osborne, MD, received the 2018 American Association for Cancer Research Distinguished Award for Extraordinary Scientific Achievement and Leadership in Breast Cancer Research.

Elizabeth M. Jaffee, MD, was inducted as 2018-2019 president of the American Association for Cancer Research.

Primo Nery Lara, Jr., MD, was named director of the National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated University of California (UC) Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Elizabeth A. Raetz, MD, joined the Hassenfeld Children’s Hospital at New York University (NYU) Langone and Perlmutter Cancer Center as director of the Division of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology and medical director of the Stephen D. Hassenfeld Children’s Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders.

Leena Gandhi, MD, PhD, joined Lilly Oncology to lead an immuno-oncology medical development.

Lisa Carey, MD, became a new member of Susan G. Komen’s Scientific Advisory Board, working to guide the organization’s research programs and priorities.

Fox Chase Cancer Center recently announced its 2018 Translational Clinical Protocol Development awardees, four of which are ASCO members: Margaret von Mehren, MD; Joshua Meyer, MD; Michael Hall, MD; and Yanis Boumber, MD, PhD.

Owen A. OConnor, MD, PhD, was awarded an American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professorship.

Catherine C. Smith, MD, and Breelyn Wilky, MD, both received funding from The American Cancer Society for their investigator-initiated studies.

David Gerber, MD, was granted one of the first American Cancer Society-Melanoma Research Alliance Multidisciplinary Team Awards.

Betina Yanez, PhD, and Bianca Santomasso, MD, PhD, have been granted the first American Cancer Society-Melanoma Research Alliance Pilot Awards.

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) honored cancer researchers and clinicians who were recognized for their scientific achievements during the AACR Annual Meeting 2018, including four ASCO Members: Joseph R. Bertino, MD, FAACR; Pasi A. Jänne, MD, PhD; Antoni Ribas, MD, PhD; and Johann S. De Bono, PhD.

Back to Top