Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

September 2022 Member News

Sep 12, 2022

The Bristol Myers Squibb Foundation, together with its partners the National Medical Fellowships and the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), has renamed their Diversity in Clinical Trials Training Program to honor Robert A. Winn, MD: The Robert A. Winn Diversity in Clinical Trials Award Program.
Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD, FASCO, received the Pezcoller Foundation–AACR International Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research.
Elaine S. Jaffe, MD, received the inaugural AACR James S. Ewing–Thelma B. Dunn Award for Outstanding Achievement in Pathology in Cancer Research.
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center launched the James P. Allison Institute, a visionary research and innovation hub within MD Anderson. James P. Allison, PhD, will serve as director, and Padmanee Sharma, MD, PhD, will serve as scientific director. 
Craig S. Sauter, MD, joined Cleveland Clinic Cancer Center as director of the Blood and Marrow Transplant Program.
The National Comprehensive Cancer Network recently announced the recipients of their 2022 awards. William John Gradishar, MD, FACP, FASCO, received the 2022 Rodger Winn Award, and Robert A. Winn, MD, received the 2022 Partners In Cancer Care Award.
Cleveland Clinic appointed Alex A. Adjei, MD, PhD, FASCO, as chair of Taussig Cancer Institute.
Koen van Besien, MD, PhD, will lead the new Wesley Center for Immunotherapy at University Hospitals (UH) Seidman Cancer Center, as well as the Division of Hematology.
In Memoriam
Martin A. “Mac” Cheever, MD; Michel R. Hurtubise, MD; Elie Mouaikel, MD, FRCPC; Dina Randazzo, DO, MS
The ASCO Post contributed reporting.

Back to Top