Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

January 2022 Member News

Jan 14, 2022

ASCO president-elect Eric Winer, MD, FASCO, accepted a new role as director of the Yale Cancer Center and physician-in-chief of Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale New Haven, which will begin February 1, 2022.
President Joseph Biden named Nilofer S. Azad, MD; Luis Alberto Diaz, Jr, MD; Christopher Friese, PhD, RN; Amy B. Heimberger, MD, FAANS; and Karen Winkfield, MD, PhD, to the National Cancer Advisory Board. 
The Lancet will institute a new commission on cancer and health systems as it examines global cancer care and health systems, which will be co-chaired by Mary Gospodarowicz, MD, FRCPC
Barbara Burtness, MD, has been appointed interim associate director for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at Yale Cancer Center.
Judy Ellen Garber, MD, MPH, FASCO, received the Distinguished Scientist Award from the Association of American Cancer Institutes. 
George D. Demetri, MD, FASCO, will lead the David Liposarcoma Research Initiative at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. 
Renier J. Brentjens, MD, PhD, joined Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center as deputy director, the Katherine Anne Gioia Endowed Chair in Cancer Medicine, chair of the Department of Medicine, and professor of oncology in the Departments of Medicine and Immunology. 
The International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) presented awards to clinicians and researchers who made significant contributions to the treatment of patients with lung cancer. David Paul Carbone, MD, PhD, FASCO, was presented with the Paul A. Bunn, Jr, Scientific Award. Michael Boyer, MBBS, FRACP, PhD, was named as the 2021 recipient of the Adi F. Gazdar IASLC Merit Award. Ayten K. Cangir, MD, FEBTS, received the Clifton F. Mountain Lectureship Award for Staging. James Huang, MD, received the Tsuguo Naruke Lectureship Award for Surgery. Fabrice Barlesi, MD, received the Daniel C. Ihde Lectureship Award for Medical Oncology. Graham Warren, MD, PhD, received the IASLC Lectureship Award for Tobacco Control and Smoking Cessation. 
IASLC announced the appointment of Kristin Richeimer, CAE, DES, to the position of interim chief executive officer.
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey and RWJBarnabas Health welcomed Missak Haigentz, Jr, MD, as chief of Thoracic and Head and Neck Medical Oncology and clinical director for Oncology Integration.
The American Cancer Society announced that Elvan “Ellie” Daniels, MD, MPH, has been appointed senior vice president of Extramural Discovery Science. 
The 2021 Pan Pacific Lymphoma Conference honored outstanding clinical investigators. Loretta J. Nastoupil, MD, received The James O. Armitage Lymphoma Clinical Investigator Award, and the 2021 Oliver Press Memorial Lecture, “Historical Development of Hodgkin Therapy at Stanford,” was delivered by Ranjana H. Advani, MD
The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) announced Graham A. Colditz, MD, DrPH, MPH, as the recipient of the 2021 AACR Distinguished Lectureship on the Science of Cancer Health Disparities.
Funds from a Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) grant have been awarded to Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center to support their collaborative research with the University of Chicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center. The research team will be led in part by Kunle Odunsi, MD, PhD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center appointed Tracy Gosselin, PhD, RN, AOCN, NEA-BC, FAAN, as senior vice president, chief nurse executive, and chair of Nursing.
Florida Cancer Specialists & Research Institute appointed Michael Diaz, MD, to the position of president and managing physician.
Deborah Schrag, MD, MPH, FASCO, was named the new chair of the Department of Medicine at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC).
MSKCC announced the establishment of the Lisa and Scott Stuart Center for Adolescent and Young Adult Cancers (the Stuart Center), which will be led by William Tap, MD, and Julia Glade Bender, MD.
Priya Hays, MS, PhD, authored the recently published book Advancing Healthcare Through Personalized Medicine, Second Edition.
Stan Gerson, MD, has been appointed dean of the Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine.
Anju Software announced the appointment of Michael Keens as executive vice president of Operations.
Jonathan Fletcher, MD, was appointed chief scientific officer of the Sarcoma Alliance for Research Through Collaboration (SARC).
In Memoriam
Joseph R. Bertino, MD, FASCO; Elihu Estey, MD
The ASCO Post contributed reporting.

Back to Top