Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

July 2021 Member News

Jul 15, 2021

The Journal of Clinical Oncology (JCO) appointed two new editors to the Meeting Proceedings abstract supplements. Pamela L. Kunz, MD, of Yale University School of Medicine, will serve as consultant editor; in this role, Dr. Kunz will provide editorial leadership for the JCO meeting abstracts supplements. Ryan D. Gentzler, MD, MS, of the University of Virginia School of Medicine, will serve as associate editor.
Steven G. Eisenberg, DO, authored the recently published book Love Is the Strongest Medicine: Notes from a Cancer Doctor on Connection, Creativity, and Compassion
Elizabeth Garrett-Mayer, PhD, joined the 2021 Class of Fellows at the Society for Clinical Trials. 
Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, FASTRO, FASCO, received the 2021 American Medical Women's Association Women in Science Award. 
Jaime Andres Suarez, MD, and Habib Ghaddar, MD, received the 2021 Health Volunteers Overseas Golden Apple Award. 
Jame Abraham, MD, will serve as acting chair of Taussig Cancer Institute. 
Larry Norton, MD, FASCO, was elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences in the Biological Sciences Class—Medical Sciences Section.
Carl H. June, MD, was named a 2021 Dan David Prize laureate. 
James K. Aikins, Jr, MD, FACOG, FACS, was named chief of gynecologic oncology at Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey and chief of gynecologic oncology services at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital. 
Charles L. Sawyers, MD, FAACR, will lead the Human Oncology & Pathogenesis Program at the newly established Tow Center for Developmental Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. He was also presented with the Distinguished Public Service Award from the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR).
Krista Nelson, MSW, LCSW, OSW-C, FAOSW, was named president of the Association of Community Cancer Centers. 
City of Hope appointed Terence M. Williams, MD, PhD, as professor and chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology.
The European Society for Medical Oncology and the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer presented the Heine H. Hansen Award 2021 to Johan F. Vansteenkiste, MD, PhD. 
Benjamin Levine Ebert, MD, PhD, was awarded the Sjöberg Prize, an annual international award in cancer research.
A group of 37 medical and radiation oncologists, co-led by Bruno S. Fang, MD, are forming Astera Cancer Care, an independent and physician-owned multispecialty community oncology practice. 
Huntsman Cancer Institute at the University of Utah announced the appointment of Neeraj Agarwal, MD, as senior director of clinical research innovation. 
Narjust Duma, MD, was named associate director of the Cancer Care Equity Program and assistant professor of medicine at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute/Harvard Medical School.
Gregory Lawrence Beatty, MD, PhD, received a grant from AACR and The Mark Foundation for Cancer Research to study how the liver affects cancer immunotherapy efficacy.
In Memoriam
Gouri Shankar Bhattacharyya, MBBS, MD, MNAMS, PhD, FRCP
Vicky Eileen Jones, MD

Back to Top