Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

May 2020 Member News

Apr 28, 2020

ASCO executive vice president and chief medical officer Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FACP, FASCO was designated as a National Associate of the National Academies in recognition of extraordinary service to The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 
Oncology Analytics has announced the appointment of Lee Newcomer, MD, as a strategic advisor.
Ashwani Rajput, MD, FACS, has been appointed director of the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center for the Washington, DC, region. 
Golden Valley Memorial Healthcare announced that Jaswinder Singh, MD, has joined their cancer center.
Thomas J. Smith, MD, FACP, FASCO, FAAHPM, gave the keynote address at the 2019 Supportive Care in Oncology Symposium and was honored with the 2019 Walther Cancer Foundation Palliative and Supportive Care in Oncology Endowed Award and Lecture. 
Kunle Odunsi, MD, PhD, FRCOG, FACOG, was elected as the Cancer Immunology Working Group (CIMM) chairperson-elect for 2020-2021.
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital announced that Elizabeth Fox, MD, has been named senior vice president of Clinical Trials Research.
Forbes Magazine released the ninth annual “30 Under 30” list Class of 2020 in December 2019, featuring the newest group of 600 young entrepreneurs, scientists, and innovative individuals who were recognized for their extraordinary accomplishments at early ages. Ann Lin was listed in The Honorees in Science Category. Erica Barnell, MD, PhD, Bsc and Jean Fan, PhD, MD, were listed in Honorees in Health Care Category. 
The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center announced that Thomas J. Lynch, Jr, MD, will become the center’s new president and director.
Miriam Atkins, MD, FACP and Marissa Rivera, MBA were re-elected to serve another term on the Community Oncology Alliance (COA) Board of Directors. 
Richard Ingram, MD, Gary E. Kay, MD, James J. Perry, MD, and Ravi D. Rao, MD were elected to serve their first term on the COA Board of Directors. 
The following individuals were elected to serve as COA officers and on the Executive Committee for 2020: Michael Diaz, MD (president), Kashyap B. Patel, MD (vice president), Miriam Atkins, MD, FACP (secretary), Jeffrey L. Vacirca, MD (immediate past president), David A. Eagle, MD (past president), Debra A. Patt, MD, MPH, MBA, FASCO (officer-at-large), and Jeffrey Patton, MD (officer-at-large). 
Nicholas James Short, MD received the 2019 Joanne Levy, MD, Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement at the 2019 American Society of Hematology (ASH) Annual Meeting & Exposition. 
Karen L. Reckamp, MD, MS, has been selected to be director of the Division of Medical Oncology at Cedars-Sinai Cancer.
Laura van 't Veer, PhD, was recognized at the Precision Medicine World Conference (PMWC) with its Luminary Award.
Eileen P. Smith, MD, has been appointed chair of the Department of Hematology & Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation at City of Hope. 
Stand Up To Cancer (SU2C) announced that an international team of experts will take a new approach to fighting gastric cancer. The team’s key team members and patient advocates include Sam S. Yoon, MD and Aki Smith, BA. 
The Mark Foundation for Cancer Research has announced the creation of the Mark Foundation Center for Advanced Genomics and Imaging at the Johns Hopkins University which will be led in part by Drew M. Pardoll, MD, PhD
The ASCO Post contributed reporting.
In Memoriam 
Clara D. Bloomfield, MD, FASCO
Eli J. Glatstein, MD, FASCO
Aron Goldhirsch, MD
Patrick J. Nestor, MD
Homayoon Sanati, MD

Back to Top