January 2020 Member News

Jan 10, 2020

Dennis J. Slamon, MD, PhD, received the 2019 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award for developing the anticancer antibody trastuzumab.

Charles M. Rudin, MD, PhD, received the Paul A. Bunn, Jr. Scientific Award at the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) 2019 World Conference on Lung Cancer (WCLC), for his contributions to thoracic cancer research.

Eric Van Cutsem, MD, PhD, received the 2019 ESMO Award for his pioneering work in gastrointestinal oncology and for his role in creating and leading one of the earliest specialist oncology units for gastrointestinal cancers in Europe.

Angelo Di Leo, MD, PhD, received the 2019 ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award in tribute to his career dedicated to cancer research and education.

Cristiana Sessa, MD, received the 2019 ESMO Women for Oncology Award for her contributions to supporting the career development of women in oncology and advocating for gender diversity in the oncology workforce.

Lisa Marie DeAngelis, MD, was named physician-in-chief and chief medical officer of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.

Lewis Clayton Cantley, PhD, BS, was one of three scientists awarded the 2019 Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize from Columbia University. The honorees played key roles in identifying and deciphering the PI3K pathway.

Vassiliki Papadimitrakopoulou, MD, has been appointed clinical development leader of Pfizer Oncology.

ASCO president-elect Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO, was inducted into the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) in October 2019. Dr. Pierce was elected as a new member of NAM in October 2018 in recognition of her research contributions to the field of radiation oncology and breast cancer, as well as her efforts to encourage and support workforce diversity.

Incoming chair of the ASCO International Affairs Committee Clarissa Mathias, MD, was appointed as 2019–2021 president of the Brazilian Society of Clinical Oncology.

ASTRO Fellows 2019                                                                

The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) selected 26 members to receive the ASTRO Fellow (FASTRO) designation at its 2019 Annual Meeting, including the following ASCO members: Felipe A. Calvo, MD, Allen M. Chen, MD, Gregg E. Franklin, MD, PhD, Joel S. Greenberger, MD, Daphne A. Haas-Kogan, MD, Michele Y. Halyard, MD, FASTRO, Larry Llyn Kestin, MD, Deepak Khuntia, FASTRO, MD, David G. Kirsch, MD, PhD, Sunil Krishnan, MD, Fei-Fei Liu, MD, Rinaa S. Punglia, MD, Ramesh Rengan, MD, PhD, Helen Alice Shih, MD, MS, Benjamin D. Smith, MD, Srinivasan Vijayakumar, MD, and Torunn I. Yock, MD.

In Memoriam                                                                

  • Bernard Fisher, MD, FASCO*
  • Prabhjit S. Purewal, MD, FACP
  • Michael Reiss, MD

* Donations in Dr. Fisher’s memory can be made to Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation at CONQUER.ORG or mailed to Conquer Cancer, PO Box 896076, Charlotte, NC 28289-6076.

Back to Top