September 2019 Member News

Sep 19, 2019

John Deeken, MD, was named president of Inova Schar Cancer Institute.

Nazim Serdar Turhal, MD, FACP, was re-elected as the president of the Medical Oncology Section in the European Union of Medical Specialists, representing 40 National Associations of the Union.

Stephen J. Forman, MD, received the 2019 DKMS Mechtild Harf Science Award in Frankfurt, Germany, and delivered the E. Donnall Thomas Lecture in Houston at the Transplantation & Cellular Therapy Meetings of the American Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation and Center for International Blood and Marrow Transplant Research (CIBMTR).

Ronald Walters, MD, was elected chair of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network® (NCCN®) Board of Directors.

Dan Theodorescu, MD, PhD, was inducted as a new member of the Association of American Physicians.

Natalie Dickson, MD, was appointed as chairperson of OneCouncil, OneOncology’s clinical advisory and governance board. 

Richard T. Silver, MD, was awarded the 2019 European-LeukemiaNet (ELN) Merit Award in recognition of his contributions to the international integration of research in the field of leukemia.

Mary Beckerle, PhD, was appointed to an advisory group position within the National Institutes of Health.

Jonas Bergh, MD, PhD, FRCP, was awarded the newly established 2019 ESMO Breast Cancer Award at the inaugural ESMO Breast Cancer Congress 2019.

Kedar Kirtane, MD, was awarded an NCCN Foundation® Young Investigator Award.

Baylor Scott & White Health recently named Ronan Kelly, MBBCh, MD, MBA, as chief of oncology for the organization’s North Texas medical centers.

Lisa Kachnic, MD, was named chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at the Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons and chief of the Radiation Oncology Service at NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center.

Charles G. Mullighan, MBBS (Hons), MSc, MD, was named deputy director of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Cheryl Jernigan, CPA, Edith A. Perez, MD, and Sandra Spivey, MBA, were named Susan G. Komen Scholars.

JAMA Oncology published “Not on My Watch,” a personal essay by Arjun Gupta, MD, of Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins University.

In Memoriam

LaSalle D. Leffall Jr., MD

Henry T. Lynch, MD

Gisup Nikha Prasiko, MD

Eugene P. Frenkel, MD 

Javier Castellanos Diez, MD, PhD

Edward Wilton Forbes, MD

The ASCO Post contributed reporting.

Back to Top