ASCO Welcomes 2019-2020 Class of Education Scholars

Jul 23, 2019

As ASCO continues in its mission to offer high-quality, relevant, and effective educational materials to its members, the Society welcomes the 2019-2020 Education Scholars.

The Education Scholars Program, which launched in 2018, is dedicated to exposing scholars to the study of learning science and leadership training. Participants gain an understanding of cognitive science and adult learning theory and apply this knowledge to an ASCO learning activity, with the intent to integrate the activity into ASCO’s education portfolio.

The Education Scholars leave the program with the knowledge and leadership experience needed to advance medical education within ASCO, at their institutions, and in the broader medical community.

2019-2020 Education Scholars Program Participants

Sam Brondfield, MD
University of California, San Francisco

Rachel J. Buchsbaum, MD
Tufts Medical Center

Tyler Paul Johnson, MD
Stanford School of Medicine

Rami Manochakian, MD
Mayo Clinic, Florida

Jonathan Michael Marron, MD, MPH
Dana-Farber/Boston Children's Cancer and Blood Disorders Center

Mairéad McNamara, MBBS, PhD
University of Manchester/The Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Sarah Nagle, MD
Oregon Health & Science University

Deepa Rangachari, MD
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School

Jennifer E. Schwartz, MD, FRCPC
Indiana University School of Medicine

Vatché Tchekmedyian, MD, MEd
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Gina M. Villani, MD, MPH
Weill Cornell-New York Presbyterian

Katherine Walsh, MD
The Ohio State University

2019-2020 Education Scholars Program Mentors

Jill Gilbert, MD, FACP, FASCO
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

David L. Graham, MD, FASCO
Levine Cancer Institute

Jamie Von Roenn, MD, FASCO
American Society of Clinical Oncology

Back to Top