July 2018 Member News

Jul 18, 2018

Jennifer Chan, MD, MPH, received a 2018 Pilot Project Grant Award from the Neuroendocrine Tumor Research Foundation (NETRF).

Frederick L. Greene, MD, FACS, was named the 2018 Distinguished Service Award recipient by The Southeastern Surgical Congress.

Anne Ireland, MSN, RN, AOCN®, CENP, was elected by the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) membership to serve on the ONS Board of Directors.

Bernard Fisher, MD, FASCO, and Norman Wolmark, MD, received the Society of Surgical Oncology’s 2018 Charles M. Balch, MD, Distinguished Service Award.

Richard R. Barakat, MD, was appointed to lead Northwell Health cancer services and research.

Wadih Arap, MD, PhD, is the new director for Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey at University Hospital.

Martin S. Tallman, MD, has joined the Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Board.

Maura Dickler, MD, was appointed vice president of Late-Phase Development at Lilly Oncology.

Frederick M. Schnell, MD, FACP, has been named medical director of the Community Oncology Alliance.

Craig B. Thompson, MD, was presented the 2018 David T. Workman Memorial Award by the Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation.

Edward M. Wolin, MD, was named director of the Center for Carcinoid and Neuroendocrine Tumors at Mount SinaiHealth System.

Victoria Kennedy, LCSW, is the 2018 president-elect of the American Psychosocial Oncology Society.

Scott Weir, PharmD, PhD, was honored with the 2018 Janet Davison Rowley Patient Impact Research Award by Cures Within Reach.

Wendy S. Harpham, MD, FACP, announced the publication of her book Healing Hope: Through and Beyond Cancer.

Abdul-Rahman Jazieh, MD, MPH, received the Partners in Cancer Care award from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network.

Ronald Walters, MD, MBA, MHA, MS, was honored with the National Comprehensive Cancer Network’s Board of Producers Award.

Crystal S. Denlinger, MD, FACP, received the Rodger Winn Award from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network.

Fabrice Barlesi, MD, PhD, received the 2018 Heine H. Hansen Award from the European Society for Medical Oncology and the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer.

Carl H. June, MD, FAACR, was elected to the American Association for Cancer Research Board of Directors.

Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH, FASCO, was elected to the American Association for Cancer Research Nominating Committee.

OncLive® announced its 2018 class of Giants of Cancer Care®, including 19 ASCO members: James O. Armitage, MD, FASCO; Bart Barlogie, MD, PhD; Joseph R. Bertino, MD, FASCO; Laura J. Esserman, MD, MBA, FASCO; Patricia A. Ganz, MD, FASCO; Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH, FASCO; Armando E. Giuliano, MD; Eli Glatstein, MD, FASCO; Waun Ki Hong, MD, FASCO; Bruce E. Johnson, MD, FASCO; Michael J. Keating, MD; Michael P. Link, MD, FASCO; Maurie Markman, MD, FASCO;  Caroline Robert, MD, PhD; Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FACP, FASCO, FSCT; George W. Sledge, MD, FASCO; Josep Tabernero, MD, PhD; Nicholas J. Vogelzang, MD, FASCO, FACP; and W.K. Alfred Yung, MD.

Back to Top