Cast Your Vote Today in ASCO Election

Oct 18, 2017

Voting is now open in the ASCO election. Eligible ASCO members* can vote for their chosen leaders through close December 4, 2017. Sixteen distinguished ASCO members have been selected by the ASCO Nominating Committee as candidates for open leadership positions within the Society, including:

  • The offices of President-Elect and Treasurer
  • Four seats on the Society’s Board of Directors
  • Two seats on the Nominating Committee

Biographical information and interviews with each candidate are available on the ASCO Election webpage, as well as a link to the secure online proxy ballot.

President-Elect Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Howard A. “Skip” Burris III, MD, FACP, FASCO
Sarah Cannon and Tennessee Oncology (TN)

Therese Marie Mulvey, MD, FASCO
Massachusetts General Hospital North Shore Cancer Center (MA)

Treasurer Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Laurie E. Gaspar, MD, MBA, FASTRO, FACR
University of Colorado (CO)

David R. Spriggs, MD, FACP, FASCO
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (NY)

Board of Directors—Community Oncologist Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Melissa Dillmon, MD
Harbin Clinic (GA)

Tracey Weisberg, MD
New England Cancer Specialists (ME)

Board of Directors—International Oncologist Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Nagi S. El-Saghir, MD, FACP
American University of Beirut Medical Center (Lebanon)

Tony S. K. Mok, BMSc, MD, FRCP(C), FRCP (Edin.), FHKCP, FHKAM (Medicine), FASCO
The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong)

Board of Directors—Radiation Oncologist Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

A. William Blackstock, MD
Wake Forest University (NC)

Adam P. Dicker, MD, PhD, FASTRO
Thomas Jefferson University, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center (PA)

Board of Directors—Undesignated Specialty Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Lee M. Ellis, MD, FACS, FASCO
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (TX)

Blase N. Polite, MD, MPP
University of Chicago (IL)

Nominating Committee—Undesignated Specialty Candidates (Two seats, each a 3-year term)

Parkland Health System and University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (TX)

N. Lynn Henry, MD, PhD, FACP
University of Utah and Huntsman Cancer Institute (UT)

W. Kimryn Rathmell, MD, PhD
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center (TN)

Michael A. Thompson, MD, PhD
Aurora Health Care (WI)

Election results will be announced mid-December, and newly elected officers will begin their terms of service at the conclusion of the 2018 ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Please contact ASCO Elections with any questions.

*Eligible members are those who are Full members or Emeritus members who were formerly Full members, and who are in good standing as of October 18, 2017.

Back to Top