ASCO Welcomes 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Jul 12, 2017

ASCO is pleased to welcome the 2017-2018 ASCO Board of Directors and introduce four newly instated leaders, who began their terms at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting during the 2017 ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Board Officers

2017-2018 President

Bruce E. Johnson, MD, FASCO, is chief clinical research officer and institute physician at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. He is the director of the Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center (DF/HCC) Lung Cancer Program.



2017-2018 President-Elect

Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, FASCO, is chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology at Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center, a professor of surgery at Harvard Medical School, and an associate surgeon at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.



Immediate Past President

Daniel F. Hayes, MD, FACP, FASCO, is a professor of internal medicine, the Stuart B. Padnos Professor in Breast Cancer, and the clinical director of the Breast Oncology Program at the University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center.




Craig R. Nichols, MD, FASCO, is the co-director of the Testicular Cancer Multidisciplinary Clinic at Virginia Mason Medical Center in Seattle. He serves as co-primary investigator on the recently funded Northwest National Cancer Institute Community Oncology Research Program. Dr. Nichols is the executive officer of Cancer Control and Prevention Research for the Southwest Oncology Group.



Board Members

Pediatric Oncologist

Peter C. Adamson, MD, is chair of the Children’s Oncology Group, president of the Children’s Oncology Group Foundation, and a professor of pediatrics and pharmacology at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.



Undesignated Specialist

Charles D. Blanke, MD, FACP, FASCO, is a professor of medicine in the Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology at Oregon Health & Science University’s Knight Cancer Institute.



Community Oncologist

Linda Bosserman, MD, FACP, FASCO, is an assistant clinical professor and staff physician at City of Hope.



Radiation Oncologist

Walter J. Curran Jr., MD, FACR, is the executive director of the Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University, the Lawrence W. Davis Professor and Chair of Emory’s Department of Radiation Oncology, and the associate vice president for cancer at the Woodruff Health Sciences Center.



Surgical Oncologist

Stephen B. Edge, MD, FACS, FASCO, is the Vice President for Healthcare Outcomes Policy and Professor of Oncology at the Roswell Park Cancer Institute.



Undesignated Specialist

Arti Hurria, MD, FASCO, is vice provost of clinical faculty, professor and director of the Center on Cancer and Aging, and co-lead of the Cancer Control and Population Sciences Program at City of Hope.



Undesignated Specialist

Maha Hussain, MD, FACP, FASCO, is the Cis-Maisel Professor of Oncology, and professor of medicine and urology at the University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center (UMCCC). Dr. Hussain has also served as the associate director for clinical research and co-leader of the Prostate Cancer/Genitourinary Oncology Program, as well as the associate chief for clinical research in the Division of Hematology/Oncology at UMCCC.


Undesignated Specialist

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, is professor and deputy chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at the University of Michigan, where she is residency program director, treats breast cancer, and conducts health services research.



International Oncologist

David Khayat, MD, PhD, FASCO, is the head of the Department of Medical Oncology at Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital, Paris, France.



Community Oncologist

Michael P. Kosty, MD, FACP, FASCO, is a member of the Scripps Clinical Medical Group, where he has practiced hematology and medical oncology since 1998. Dr. Kosty has served as director of Scripps Green Cancer Center in La Jolla, CA, since 2008, director of Graduate Medical Education at Scripps Clinic/Scripps Green Hospital since 2002, and as director of the Hematology/Oncology Fellow Training Program at Scripps Clinic/Scripps Green Hospital since 1997.


Community Oncologist

J. Chris Nunnink, MD, FASCO, is an attending physician in medical oncology at the University of Vermont Medical Center and an associate professor at the Vermont Cancer Center and the College of Medicine at the University of Vermont.



Conquer Cancer Foundation Board of Directors Chair

Thomas G. Roberts Jr., MD, is a managing member of Farallon Capital Management, LLC, and previously served as an attending oncologist at Massachusetts General Hospital, an instructor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and a visiting scientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.


Medical Oncologist

Eric J. Small, MD, FASCO, is the deputy director of the UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, chief of the Division of Hematology and Oncology in the Department of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, and professor in residence in the Department of Medicine and Department of Urology.


International Oncologist

Jaap Verweij, MD, PhD, FASCO, is a medical oncologist and currently dean of the faculty of medicine at Erasmus University and vice-chair of the Board of Directors at Erasmus Medical Center, Rotterdam, Netherlands.



Undesignated Specialist

Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD, is chief of the Melanoma and Immunotherapeutics Service in the Department of Medicine and the associate director of the Ludwig Center for Cancer Immunotherapy at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.



2017-2018 ASCO Committee Chairs

Incoming ASCO committee members also began their terms during the 2017 Annual Business Meeting. They are led by the following chairs:

Annual Meeting Education
David R. Spigel, MD

Annual Meeting Scientific Program
Ann H. Partridge, MD, FASCO

Cancer Communications
John Heymach, MD, PhD

Cancer Prevention

Anthony Alberg, PhD         

Cancer Research
Katherine A. Janeway, MD

Cancer Survivorship
Tara O. Henderson, MD, MPH

Conquer Cancer Foundation Grants Selection
Sarat Chandarlapaty, MD, PhD

Clinical Practice
Paul Celano, MD

Clinical Practice Guidelines
Manish A. Shah, MD

Thomas William LeBlanc, MD, MA, MHS

Government Relations
Robin Zon, MD, FACP, FASCO

Health Disparities
Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH

International Affairs
Dinesh Pendharkar, MD, PhD

Membership Advisory
Sharon Spencer, MD

Lisa A. Carey, MD

Professional Development
Julia L. Close, MD              

Quality of Care
Inga Tolin Lennes, MD

State Affiliate Council
Melissa S. Dillmon, MD

Special Awards Selection
Daniel F. Hayes, MD, FACP, FASCO

Workforce Advisory Group
Ryan C. Ramaekers, MD 

Back to Top