Home > Magazine > Exclusive Coverage

Special Awards Honor Professional Achievements, Outstanding Service

Mar 15, 2013

ASCO confers Special Awards to recognize researchers, patientadvocates, and leaders of the global oncology community who, throughtheir work in the fields of clinical oncology, cancer research, orpublic and government advocacy, have made significant contributions toenhancing cancer care.

  Martine J. Piccart, MD, PhD—David A. Karnofsky Memorial AwardAnd Lecture
Presented during the Opening Session, Saturday, June 1, 9:30 AM

Dr. Piccart is a Professor of Oncology at the UniversitéLibre de Bruxelles and Director of Medicine at the Jules BordetInstitute, Brussels, Belgium. She is a leader in international breastcancer research collaboration and drug development, and serves as theprincipal or co-principal investigator for numerous clinical trialsincluding HERA, MINDACT, and ALTTO. She is co-founder and Chair of theBreast International Group (BIG), uniting 49 academic research groupsfrom around the world and running over 30 trials under its umbrella.

 Charles L. Sawyers, MD—Science of Oncology Award and Lecture
Presented during the Plenary Session, Sunday, June 2, 1:00 PM

Dr. Sawyers is head of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program, where he works to bring molecularly targeted approaches and molecularly based patient stratification to clinical trials and patient treatment more broadly across tumor types. His laboratory research led to the discovery of BCR-ABL mutations and the development of the second-generation ABL inhibitor dasatinib, which overcomes imatinib resistance.
 Kenneth Offit, MD—ASCO–American Cancer Society Award and Lecture
Presented on Monday, June 3, 4:45 PM

Dr. Offitt is Chief of the Clinical Genetics Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, a member of the Program in Cancer Biology and Genetics at the Sloan-Kettering Institute, and a Professor of Medicine and Public Health at the Weill College of Medicine of Cornell University. His research group performed the first genome-wide association study of BRCA2 breast cancer, and he is currently using next-generation sequencing to define genomic markers of risk for leukemia, lymphoma, breast, ovarian, and prostate cancers.
  Arti Hurria, MD—B. J. Kennedy Award and Lecture for Scientific Excellence in Geriatric Oncology
Presented on Monday, June 3, 3:00 PM

Dr. Hurria is Director of the Cancer and Aging Research Program at City of Hope. She serves as principal investigator on two major grants: one that seeks to identify and develop research methodology that will lead to evidence-based recommendations to improve clinical care for older adults with cancer, and one evaluating clinical and biological predictors of chemotherapy toxicity in older adults with breast cancer.
Larry Norton, MD—Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award and Lecture
Presented at the 2013 Breast Cancer Symposium, September 7-9, San Francisco, CA

Dr. Norton is the Deputy Physician-in-Chief for breast cancer programs and Medical Director of the Evelyn H. Lauder Breast Center. He has dedicated his life to the eradication of cancer by activities in medical care, laboratory and clinical research, advocacy, and government; participated in the development of several effective agents including paclitaxel and trastuzumab, and co-invented the Norton-Simon Model of cancer growth, which has broadly influenced cancer therapy.
 Garrett M. Brodeur, MD—Pediatric Oncology Award and Lecture
Presented on Friday, May 31, 2:45 PM

Dr. Brodeur is an Associate Chair for Research in the Department of Pediatrics at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, an Associate Director of the Abramson Cancer Center in the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, and holds the Audrey E. Evans Endowed Chair in Pediatric Oncology at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. He played an integral role in the identification of three important genes involved in genomic rearrangements in neuroblastomas: amplification of an oncogene (MYCN); deletion of a tumor suppressor gene from 1p36 (CHD5); and mutations of a gene responsible for most cases of hereditary neuroblastoma (ALK).
 Eduardo L. Cazap, MD, PhD—Distinguished Achievement Award
Presented at a private function

Dr. Cazap is the founder and first President of the Latin American and Caribbean Society of Medical Oncology (SLACOM), the Immediate Past President of the International Union against Cancer (UICC), and the recently designated Deputy Chair of the Developing Countries Task Force of the European Society of Medical Oncology. Dr. Cazap's leadership has helped push cancer and world health into the international political agenda. In 2011, he served as Co-Chair of the United Nations Civil Society Task Force to advise the President of the United Nations General Assembly during a high-level meeting on noncommunicable diseases.
 Otis W. Brawley, MD, FACP—Special Recognition Award
Presented at a private function

Dr. Brawley is Chief Medical and Scientific Officer for the American Cancer Society. He serves as a Professor of Hematology, Oncology, Medicine, and Epidemiology at Emory University. Over a career that has encompassed clinical practice, research, and public policy, Dr. Brawley has championed the American Cancer Society's initiatives in tobacco cessation, nutrition, early detection of cancer, and whole-patient care, as well as efforts to eliminate disparities in access to quality cancer care.
 Bella Kaufman, MD—Humanitarian Award
Presented during the Opening Session, Saturday, June 1, 9:30 AM

Dr. Kaufman leads the breast cancer unit at The Chaim Sheba Medical Center at Tel Hashomer, Israel, affiliated with Tel Aviv University, and is a founder and leader of the Israeli Consortium for Hereditary Breast Cancer. A long-time volunteer, she is currently a board member for nongovernmental organizations that promote the right to health equality and provides medical assistance at Physicians for Human Rights-Israel's clinics, with special attention to underserved cancer patient populations. She goes beyond her daily patient work to care for the underserved populations in her region, including the recent influx of African refugees to Israel and the Palestinian villages of the West Bank.
 Howard R. Soule, PhD—Partners in Progress Award
Presented during the Highlights of the Day Session, Monday, June 4, 8:00 AM

Dr. Soule is Executive Vice President and Chief Science Officer at the Prostate Cancer Foundation, the leading philanthropic organization in funding and accelerating prostate cancer research globally. His role in the Prostate Cancer Foundation has greatly contributed to the Foundation's success in accelerating international research and in increasing public awareness of the disease.
 Richard Pazdur, MD—Public Service Award
Presented during the Plenary Session, Sunday, June 2, 1:00 PM

Dr. Pazdur is the Director of the Office of Hematology and Oncology Products in the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. He facilitates coordination of oncology activities across all FDA centers and ensures an ongoing outreach and collaboration between FDA, the National Cancer Institute, and other cancer-related organizations within and outside of the government.

Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology
Presented during the Opening Session, Saturday, June 1, 9:30 AM

The Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (FASCO)distinction recognizes ASCO members for their extraordinary volunteerservice, dedication, and commitment to ASCO. Their efforts benefitASCO, the specialty of oncology, and, most importantly, the patientsthey serve. Seven members will be honored this year.

Stephen A.Cannistra, MD
Michael A.Carducci, MD
Eduardo L. Cazap,MD, PhD
Martin J. Murphy,DMedSc, PhD

Joan H. Schiller,MD
George W. SledgeJr., MD
Everett E. Vokes,MD

Back to Top