Member Achievements: Second Quarter 2014

Apr 24, 2014

Adam Bass, MD, received support from The Anna Fuller Fund at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute to advance his work on the genomic profiling of esophageal and stomach cancer in pursuit of novel targeted therapies (2000 Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO [CCF] Young Investigator Award [YIA] recipient).
Ami Bhatt, MD, PhD, received an AmericanSociety of Hematology 2014 Scholar Award (2013 CCF YIA recipient).
Kira Bona, MD, MPH, received a grant from the National Palliative Care Research Center to examine the effect of poverty on the well-being of pediatric cancer patients during treatment (2013 CCF YIA recipient).
Curtis A. Chong, MD, is conducting researchinto rare pulmonary carcinoid tumors at Dana-Farber’s Lowe Center for Thoracic Oncology, thanks to the support of an anonymous donor (2013 CCF YIA recipient). Dr. Chong is working on the project with Bruce Johnson, MD (2008 CCF Translational Research Professorship recipient), and Pasi Janne, MD, PhD (2001 CCF YIA recipient).
David Coffey, MD, of the University of Washington Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, is the winner of the 2013 ASCO App Idea Challenge for his idea for an ASCO Self-Assessment app. His submission suggested an app with multiple-choice questions that could track progress and identify subject areas of strength/weakness for the learner. He will receive an iPad mini™ and acknowledgment in the app. ASCO congratulates Dr. Coffey and thanks all those who entered the contest, as well as the members of the Integrated Media and Technology Committee, who acted as judges.
Emily Ko, MD, MSCR, received a 2013 Young Investigator Award from the Gynecologic Oncology Group and accepted a position as Assistant Professor at the University of Pennsylvania (2012 CCF YIA recipient).
Geoffrey R. Oxnard, MD, received support from the Stading-Younger Cancer Research Foundation to work on developing a test that can obtain tumor DNA from a blood sample, versus the traditional biopsy method (2010 CCF YIA and 2012 CCF Career Development Award recipient).
Gabrielle Rocque, MD, accepted a position as Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Alabama in Birmingham. She also received a Travel Award to attend the Advanced Breast Cancer Second International Consensus Conference in Lisbon, Portugal, and was selected for a Bill and Judy Bridgers Endowed Scholarship (2012 CCF YIA recipient).
Adam Schmitt, MD, was named Chief Resident in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Stanford University and received an award for the best research presentation at Stanford University Department of Radiation Oncology’s Annual Scientific Symposium in 2013 (2012 CCF YIA recipient).
Heather Schuback, MD, received a St. Baldrick’s Foundation Fellowship Award to support her research in pediatric acute myeloid leukemia (2013 CCF YIA recipient).
Neeta K. Venepalli, MD, of the University of Illinois at Chicago and a 2010 CCF YIA recipient, is lead author of an original report published in the March 2014 issue of the Journalof Oncology Practice, “Identifying Clinically Disruptive International Classification of Diseases 10th Revision Clinical Modification Conversions to Mitigate Financial Costs Using an Online Tool.” The study has received attention in health-focused media as oncology practices prepare for the transition to ICD-10 on October 1, 2014.
Dmitriy Zamarin, MD, PhD, is lead author on a Ludwig Cancer Research study published in the March 5, 2014, edition of Science Translational Medicine which found that infecting just one tumor with a virus could boost the systemic effectiveness of cancer immunotherapy. This study was partially supported by Dr. Zamarin’s 2013 CCF YIA.
Paris Community Hospital/Family Medical Center welcomes Wenqing Zhang, MD, PhD, a board-certified hematologist and oncologist, to the practice.

Share your professional accomplishments with colleagues and ASCO members. Email with your new job, promotion, award, grant, publication, or other success story.

Back to Top