Home > Magazine > Society

Congratulations to ASCO's Movers & Shakers

Jun 22, 2010

May 2010: ASCO Immediate Past President Douglas W. Blayney, MD, was appointed the Ann and John Doerr Medical Director of the Stanford Cancer Center. He was previously Medical Director of the University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Elizabeth Ceilley, MD, was named Medical Director of Boulder Cancer Care. She most recently came from Lutheran Medical Center in Wheat Ridge, Colorado.

Henry Kaplan and the Story of Hodgkin’s Disease, by Charlotte Jacobs, MD, was published by Stanford Press this spring. A 1972 awardee of ASCO’s David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award, Dr. Kaplan is one of the key figures in cancer history for his role in developing the first linear accelerator in North America and for his role in curing Hodgkin’s disease.

Suresh B. Katakkar, MD, of Arizona Hematology Oncology, received his second consecutive Patients’ Choice Award as a “favorite physician” in Arizona.

Larry Kwak, MD, PhD, and Douglas Schwartzentruber, MD, FACS, have been chosen for TIME Magazine's 2010 list of the 100 Most Influential People in the World. As reported by Medscape, Dr. Kwak and Dr. Schwartzentruber were "included in the list because of their work in developing vaccines against cancer—Dr. Kwak for the BiovaxID personalized vaccine against follicular lymphoma, and Dr. Schwartzentruber for the development of a vaccine against metastatic melanoma."

Andrew W. Pippas, MD, Medical Director and Director of Clinical Oncology Research at the John B. Amos Cancer Center, has been named a Distinguished Cancer Scholar by the Georgia Cancer Coalition. The honor comes with a $500,000 grant to support clinical research efforts at the John B. Amos Cancer Center. The research dollars will be used to enhance the existing clinical trials program, with an emphasis on gastrointestinal malignancies.

Nathan E. Schrock, MD, joined the staff of East Tennessee Medical Group. He most recently came from Tennessee Cancer Specialists in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Branimir I. Sikic, MD, of Stanford University School of Medicine, was awarded the Presidential Medal for Science and Medicine from Croatian President Stjepan Mesić. The award recognizes his achievements in cancer research and contributions to medical education and cancer care and prevention in Croatia.

Which of your colleagues were recently quoted in the news?

Mark G. Malkin, MD, FRCP, of the Medical College of Wisconsin, was featured in the New York Times article, “Change of Address Changes Outlook for Brain Cancer Patient.” ASCO CEO Allen S. Lichter, MD, was also quoted in the piece.

Back to Top