Home > Magazine > Society

ASCO Announces 2011 IDEA and IDEA-PC Recipients

Apr 28, 2011

April 2011: The International Development and Education Award (IDEA) provides opportunities for early-career oncologists in low- and middle-income countries to further their knowledge and careers and build long-term mentoring relationships with established oncology researchers. The awards enable recipients to attend the Annual Meeting, visit a leading cancer center in the United States or Canada with an appointed mentor, and receive a three-year complimentary ASCO membership. This year 24 awardees are participating in the IDEA program, including four oncologists who have an interest in palliative care (PC).

Left to Right: Jonair Hussein E N Labib, MSc, MD; Taopheeq Bamidele Rabiu, MBChB; Tashi Dendup Wangdi, MBBS, MS (Bhutan); Indranil Ghosh, MBBS, MD, DM; Xiao Li, MD; Viacheslav Chubenko, MD, PhD; Eliza Shrestha, MD, PhD; Rodica Mindruta-Stratan, MD; Elia Hakim, MBBCH, MSc; Alejandra Armengol Alonso, MD; Yang Wang, MD, PhD; Ruben Rodrigo Segovia, MD; Sitna Mwanzi, MBChB; Carlos Henrique Dos Anjos, MD; Nehal Rishi Khanna, MD; Laith Mah’d Ali Aloglah, MBBS, MD; Khunthong Pechatanan, MD; Yi-Fang Zhang, MD, PhD; Cláudia Schöffel Schavinski, MD; Anand Kumar Mishra, MS, PDCC, MCh.

2011 IDEA Recipients

Laith Mah’d Ali Aloglah, MBBS, MD
King Hussein Medical Center
Amman, Jordan

Alejandra Armengol Alonso, MD
Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Médicas y Nutrición Salvador Zubirán
Mexico City, Mexico

Viacheslav Chubenko, MD, PhD
N.N. Petrov Research Institute of Oncology
Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation

Carlos Henrique dos Anjos, MD
Instituto do Cancer do Estado de São Paulo
São Paulo, Brazil

Kelechi Eguzo, MBBCh, MD
Nigerian Christian Hospital
Aba, Nigeria

Indranil Ghosh, MBBS, MD
AMRI Hospitals
Kolkata, India

Elia Hakim, MBBCh, MSc
Cairo Oncology Center
Cairo, Egypt

Nehal Rishi Khanna, MD
Tata Memorial Centre
Mumbai, India
2010 IDEA recipient

Jonair Hussein E. N. Labib, MSc, MD
Ain Shams University
Cairo, Egypt

Li Xiao, MD
Peking University People's Hospital
Beijing, People's Republic of China

Rodica Pintilie Mindruta-Stratan, MD
PMSI Institute of Oncology
Chisinau, Moldova

Anand Kumar Mishra, MS, PDCC, MCh
CSM Medical University
Lucknow, India

Sitna Mwanzi, MBChB
Aga Khan University Hospital, Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya

Khunthong Pechatanan, MD
Ramathibodi Hospital
Bangkok, Thailand

Taopheeq Bamidele Rabiu, MBChB
Federal Medical Centre         
Ido-Ekiti, Nigeria

Cláudia Schöffel Schavinski, MD
Hospital São Lucas da Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul
Porto Alegre, Brazil

Ruben Rodrigo Segovia, MD
Hospital Centro de Salud Zenón Santillán
San Miguel de Tucumán, Argentina

Eliza Shrestha, MD, PhD, MBBS
Sun Yat-Sen Medical University
Guangzhou, People’s Republic of China

Yang Wang, MD, PhD
Guangdong Lung Cancer Institute
Guangzhou, People's Republic of China

Tashi Dendup Wangdi, MBBS, MS
JDW/National Referral Hospital
Thimphu, Bhutan

Yi-Fang Zhang, MD, PhD
Guangdong Lung Cancer Institute
Guangzhou, People's Republic of China

Left to Right: Maria Liza T. Naranjo, MD; Krishna Sagar Sharma, MBBS, MD; Bijesh Raj Ghimire, MBBS, MD); Balaji P. Duraisamy, MBBS, MD.

2011 IDEA-PC Recipients
Balaji P. Duraisamy, MBBS, MD
Tata Memorial Centre
Mumbai, India

Bijesh Raj Ghimire, MBBSc, MD
Om Hospital and Research Centre
Kathmandu, Nepal
2009 IDEA recipient

Maria Liza T. Naranjo, MD
Dr. Fe del Mundo Medical Center
Quezon City, Philippines
2007 IDEA recipient

Krishna Sagar Sharma, MBBS, MD
B.P. Koirala Memorial Cancer Hospital
Bharatpur, Nepal
2010 IDEA recipient

Back to Top