January 2018 Member News

Dec 18, 2017

Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, has been selected as director of the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

Louay Hanna, MD, joined the cancer treatment teams at Asheville Hematology and Oncology.

Yubao Wang, MD, PhD, joined the Lovelace Medical Group at the Lovelace Cancer Center.

Sarah W. Jewell, MD, joined the Highlands Oncology Group in Little Rock, AR.

Jason M. Rothaermel, RN, BSN, MBA, OCN, current standing regional director of The Oncology Nurse Education Team at AbbVie Labs, was recognized as one of “America’s Best Nurses” by the American Health Council for his expertise in oncology.

Susan B. LeGrand, MD, FACP, FAAHPM, of The Cleveland Clinic, was featured in the International Association of HealthCare Professionals’ publication The Leading Physicians of the World.

Apostolia M. Tsimberidou, MD, PhD, of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, is the principal investigator for the IMA101 phase I trial, the primary objective of which is to evaluate the safety and tolerability of the ACTolog® approach in patients with target-positive solid cancers.

David F. Penson, MD, MPH, of Vanderbilt University Medical Center, has been named an associate editor for The Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

Edith P. Mitchell, MD, FACP, has been chosen as the 2017 American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) Honorary Member.

Don S. Dizon, MD, FACP, and Benedito Carneiro, MD, MS, have joined the Lifespan Cancer Institute in East Greenwich, RI. 

Mark Scholz, MD, has coauthored the book The Key to Prostate Cancer: 30 Experts Explain 15 Stages of Prostate Cancer. Other authors include ASCO members Richard Lam, MD, Stanley Brosman, MD, Gary Leach, MD, Howard Sandler, MD, FASTRO, FASCO, Sean McBride, MD, MPH, Michael Steinberg, MD, Christopher Rose, MD, Charles Drake, MD, PhD, and Luke Nordquist, MD.

Norman E. “NedSharpless, MD, became the 15th director of the National Cancer Institute, part of the National Institutes of Health.

V. Craig Jordan, PhD, has been recognized by the Endocrine Society as the 2018 Laureate of the Gerald D. Aurbach Award for Outstanding Translational Research.

Nicholas G. Nickols, MD, PhD, has been awarded the 2017 VALOR Young Investigator Award by the Prostate Cancer Foundation.

Deric Savior, MD, has been appointed head of Medical Oncology at Fox Chase Cancer Center at Temple University Hospital.

Emmanuel T. Quien, MD, and Carlyn Tan, MD, joined Fox Chase Cancer Center at Temple University Hospital’s Department of Hematology/Oncology.

Theodore L. DeWeese, MD, was elected president-elect of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO), while William F. Hartsell, MD, FACR, FACRO, was elected Health Policy Council vice-chair. Charles Thomas, MD, FASCO, was elected as ASTRO’s Nominating Committee Academic Physician and Paul Sperduto, MD, MPP, FASTRO, was elected as ASTRO’s Nominating Committee Community Practice Physician. 

Back to Top