January 2016 Member News & Networking

Dec 15, 2015

Carolyn “Bo” Aldigé, Founder and President of the Prevent Cancer Foundation, received the Platinum Award for Outstanding Contribution to Healthcare from Medical Marketing & Media in October 2015. This award recognizes exceptional contributions to health care by an individual, team, organization, association, or other relevant group.


Aakanksha Asija, MD, MPH, began work as a Hematologist and Medical Oncologist at Nanticoke Cancer Care Services in September. Dr. Asija completed her fellowship at the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University.


ThedaCare Cancer Care welcomed Edgard A. Badine, MD, MBA, to its oncology staff.



A. Bapsi Chakravarthy, MD, Professor and Residency Director of Radiation Oncology at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, has been named a Fellow by the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO). Dr. Chakravarthy serves as Radiation Oncology Chair for ECOG-ACRIN.


Laurie E. Douglas, MD, recently joined Hattiesburg Clinic Hematology/ Oncology. Dr. Douglas completed her fellowship at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center.


Nagi S. El Saghir, MD, FACP, Professor of Clinical Medicine and Hematology- Oncology and Director of the Breast Center of Excellence at Naef K. Basile Cancer Institute at the American University of Beirut Medical Center, Lebanon, has been awarded the 2015 CNRS Research Excellence Award for “his outstanding contribution to the understanding of breast cancer in young women, genetic mutations, downstaging, and improving outcome of breast cancer patients in Lebanon,” according to the Centre National de Recherche Scientifique.

Steven J. Feigenberg, MD, along with other researchers at the University of Maryland School of Medicine, will begin enrolling patients in the first clinical trial of GammaPod™, a new high-precision, image-guided stereotactic radiation therapy system specifically designed to treat earlystage breast cancer.


Rusudan K. Hopman, MD, joined BayCare Medical Group in September 2015.



Jose Iglesias, MD, was appointed Chief Medical Officer of Biothera Pharmaceutical, Inc. Prior to his new appointment, Dr. Iglesias was the Chief Medical Officer of Bionomics Ltd.



Steven K. Libutti, MD, FACS, and other researchers at Montefiore Einstein Center for Cancer Care received a 3-year, $750,000 grant from the Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs, an office of the U.S. Department of Defense. The funding will support research on the mechanism of action of a novel tumor suppressor protein, FILIP1L, which has been shown to inhibit the spread of ovarian cancer.


Matthew A. Powell, MD, has been named Director of the Division of Gynecologic Oncology in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Washington University School of Medicine.


Michael R. Savona, MD, is principal investigator on a grant from Incyte Corporation to explore new therapies for the treatment of various types of cancer, as well as other diseases. Dr. Savona is an Associate Professor of Medicine and Director of the Hematology Early Therapeutics Program at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center.


Philip J. Stella, MD, of St. Joseph Mercy Health System, was inducted into the International Heritage Foundation’s Hall of Fame in November 2015. The nonprofit International Heritage Foundation provides supportive programs and services for immigrant and ethnic communities in Detroit, MI. Dr. Stella was honored for his professional and personal commitment to serving minority and underserved populations, guided by his own heritage as an Italian-American.

Back to Top