Help Shape the Future of ASCO: Voting Open for the 2020 ASCO Election

Nov 01, 2019

Eligible ASCO members* can cast their vote now for the 2020 ASCO Election. Select the next group of leaders by voting for candidates for President-Elect and members of the ASCO Board of Directors and the Nominating Committee.

In the immediate years to come, ASCO will be making substantial and meaningful decisions regarding a number of issues related to cancer care, including practice reform, education, research, advocacy, and quality improvement. Please vote in this year’s election to help determine who makes these decisions on your behalf.

Detailed information about all candidates for the open positions is available; please review this information before casting your vote. 

Voting will close on Monday, December 2, 2019, at 11:59 PM US Eastern Standard Time. Election results will be announced mid-December following the special members’ meeting, and your new leaders will begin their terms of service at the conclusion of the 2020 ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago.

The ASCO Nominating Committee has selected 14 distinguished ASCO members as candidates for open leadership positions within ASCO:​

President-Elect (one seat, 4-year term)

Patrick J. Loehrer, MD, FASCO
Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center

Everett E. Vokes, MD, FASCO
University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center

Board of Directors – Designated International Oncologist (one seat, 4-year term)

Peter Albers, MD
Heinrich-Heine University Düsseldorf (Germany)

Enrique Soto Pérez de Celis, MD, MSc
Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Médicas y Nutrición Salvador Zubirán (Mexico)

Board of Directors – Designated Pediatric Oncologist (one seat, 4-year term)

Lia Gore, MD
University of Colorado Cancer Center

Tara O. Henderson, MD, MPH, FASCO
University of Chicago

Board of Directors – Undesignated Specialty (two seats, each a 4-year term)

Lisa A. Carey, MD, FASCO
University of North Carolina Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

Ray D. Page, DO, PhD, FACOI, FASCO
The Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders

Elizabeth R. Plimack, MD, MS
Fox Chase Cancer Center

William D. Tap, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Nominating Committee – Undesignated Specialty (two seats, each a 3-year term)

Jordan D. Berlin, MD, FASCO
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Howard L. McLeod, PharmD
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center

Beverly S. Mitchell, MD
Stanford Cancer Institute

Dan S. Zuckerman, MD, FASCO
St. Luke's Mountain States Tumor Institute

We appreciate your participation in guiding the future of the Society. If you have any questions, please contact or 571-483-1317.

Special Meeting Notice: All proxy ballots submitted during the voting period will be delivered to the ASCO Chair of the Board (or her designee) to be cast at a special members’ meeting. The meeting will be held on Thursday, December 5, 2019, from 9:30 to 10:00 AM US Eastern Standard Time at ASCO Headquarters at 2318 Mill Road, Suite 800, Alexandria, VA 22314. This notice is issued at the direction of the Board of Directors of the American Society of Clinical Oncology.

*Eligible members are those who are Full members, Emeritus members who were formerly Full members, or Honorary members, and who are in good standing as of October 16, 2019. 

Back to Top