2019 ASCO Election Candidates and Proposed Bylaws Amendments

Oct 17, 2018

The ASCO Nominating Committee has selected fifteen distinguished ASCO members as candidates for open leadership positions within the Society, including:

  • The office of President-Elect
  • Three seats on the Society’s Board of Directors
  • Three seats on the Nominating Committee

The 2019 election ballots will also include proposed amendments to the ASCO Bylaws to create a new, affiliated association that will enable ASCO to increase the impact of its policy and advocacy efforts to advance high-quality patient care, while enhancing the services and products provided to members. The proposed amendments provide that members will be members of both ASCO and the new association.

Eligible ASCO members* can vote for their chosen leaders and on whether to approve the proposed amendments to the ASCO Bylaws from now through December 3, 2018.

President-Elect Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO
University of Michigan (MI)                                                                                

Carolyn D. Runowicz, MD, FASCO
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Florida International University, Miami (FL)

Board of Directors—Community Oncologist Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Lee S. Schwartzberg, MD, FACP
West Cancer Center (TN)

Michael A. Thompson, MD, PhD, FASCO
Advocate Aurora Health (WI)

Board of Directors—Surgical Oncologist Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Andrew M. Lowy, MD, FACS
UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center (CA)

Elizabeth A. Mittendorf, MD, PhD
Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center (MA)

Board of Directors—Undesignated Specialty Candidates (One seat, 4-year term)

Ethan M. Basch, MD, MSc, FASCO
University of North Carolina (NC)

Samir N. Khleif, MD
Lombardi Cancer Center Georgetown (DC)

Nominating Committee—Community Oncologist Candidates (One seat, 3-year term)

Edward P. Balaban, DO, FACP, FASCO
Penn State Cancer Institute (PA)

Thomas A. Marsland, MD, FASCO
St. Joseph Health System (CA)

Piyush Srivastava, MD
Kaiser Permanente (CA)

Nominating Committee—Undesignated Specialty Candidates (Two seats, each a 3-year term)

Sharon H. Giordano, MD, MPH, FASCO
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (TX)

Suresh S. Ramalingam, MD
Emory University (GA)

Brian I. Rini, MD, FACP
Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute (OH)

Colin D. Weekes, MD, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital (MA)

Election results will be announced mid-December, and newly elected officers will begin their terms of service at the conclusion of the 2019 ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago. Please contact ASCO Elections with any questions.

*Eligible members are those who are Full members or Emeritus members who were formerly Full members, and who are in “good standing” as of October 17, 2018. 

Back to Top