ASCO Announces Newly Elected Leaders

Dec 18, 2013

ASCO is pleased to announce theresults of the recent Society election for President-Elect, the Board of Directors, and the Nominating Committee. The seven newly elected leaders will begin their terms at the conclusion of the 2014 ASCO Annual Meeting in June.

Major priorities for the incoming leaders will be ASCO's ongoing efforts to further improve quality and value in cancer care, particularly CancerLinQ™; coverage for and patient access to clinical trials; changes to the practice environment as a result of the implementation of the Affordable Care Act; a renewed focus on team-based care; addressing the global burden of cancer care, which is increasingly falling on countries with the most limited resources; and mentoring future leaders in oncology. (Read the full press release online.)

Julie M. Vose, MD, MBA, FASCO
2014-2015 President-Elect (2015-2016 President)

Dr. Vose is the Neumann M. andMildred E. Harris Professorial Chairand Chief of the Oncology/HematologyDivision in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, and the Associate Director of Clinical Research and Co-Chair of the Lymphoma Program at the Fred and Pamela Buffet Cancer Center. Since joining ASCO in 1991, she has served on the Board of Directors, as Chair of the Cancer Education Committee, and is the current Chair-Elect of the Integrated Media & Technology Committee, among other activities. In addition, Dr. Vose is a member of the Board of Directors for the Universityof Nebraska Medical Center Physicians Group; Co-Chair of the Lymphoma Steering Committee for the National Cancer Institute; and serves on the U.S.Food and Drug Administration Oncologic Drugs Advisory Committee.

Linda D. Bosserman, MD, FACP
Board of Directors—Community Oncologist

Dr. Bossermanis President of the Wilshire Oncology Medical Group, Inc., in Los Angeles. Since joining ASCO in 1990, Dr. Bosserman has served on the Quality Care Symposium Planning Committee and Practice Guidelines Implementation Network, among other activities.She was a member of the White House Physician Forum on Health Reform in2009. She has led her practice's work on oncology medical home care.

David Khayat, MD, PhD, FASCO
Board of Directors—International Oncologist

Dr. Khayat is theHead of the Department of Medical Oncology at Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital, in Paris. Since joining ASCO in 1987, he has served as Chair of the International Affairs Committee, on the Cancer Education Committee, and as Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Oncology, among other activities. He has served as President ofthe French National Cancer Institute and the French Federation of Medical Oncologists.

Walter J. Curran, Jr., MD, FACR
Board of Directors—Radiation Oncologist

Dr. Curran is the Executive Director of the Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University and the Lawrence W. Davis Professor and Chairman of Emory's Department of Radiation Oncology. Since joining ASCO in 1988, Dr. Curran has served on the Cancer Research Committee, the Cancer.Net Editorial Board, and the Conquer Cancer Foundation Advanced Clinical Research Award (ACRA) in Glioma Subcommittee, among other activities. He is one of three founding principal investigators of the new NCI-funded cooperative group NRG Oncology and the Founding Chair of the NRG Oncology Foundation Board.

Charles D. Blanke, MD, FACP, FRCPC, FASCO
Board of Directors—Undesignated Specialty

Dr. Blanke is a Professor of Medicine at the Oregon Health & Science University Knight Cancer Institute in the Divisionof Hematology and Medical Oncology. Since joining ASCO in 1995, Dr. Blanke has served as Chair of the Cancer Education Committee, Co-Chair of the Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium Program Committee, and on the Journal of Clinical Oncology Editorial Board, among other activities. He is the current Chair of the Southwest Oncology Group (SWOG).

Gregory H. Reaman, MD, FASCO
Nominating Committee

Dr. Reaman is the Associate Directorof the U.S.Food and Drug Administration's Office of Hematology and Oncology Products, a Professor of Pediatrics at The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences, and an Adjunct Professor of Oncology and Pediatrics at Georgetown UniversitySchool of Medicine. Since joining ASCO in 1978, he has served on the Board of Directors, the Cancer Survivorship Committee, and as Chair of the Membership Committee, among other activities. He is a past Chair of the Children's Oncology Group.

David R. Spriggs, MD
Nominating Committee

Dr. Spriggs is Head of the Divisionof Solid Tumor Oncology and the Winthrop Rockefeller Chair of Medical Oncology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and a Professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College. Since joining ASCO in 1986, he has served on the Scientific Program Committee, Chair of the Grants Selection Committee, and as an Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Oncology, among other activities. He currently serves as an Associate Editor ofthe New England Journal of Medicine. Dr. Spriggs will serve as the 2016-2017 Chair of the Nominating Committee.


The President-Elect and new members of the Board of Directorsand Nominating Committee will be introduced during the Annual Business Meeting on Monday, June 2, 2014, at the ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago. Membersare encouraged to attend this event to learn more about the newly elected leaders, as well as the Society's activities and priorities.


Back to Top