Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

September 2021 Member News

Sep 01, 2021

ASCO will recognize John V. Cox, DO, MBA, FACP, FASCO, with the Joseph V. Simone Award and Lecture for Excellence in Quality and Safety in the Care of Patients With Cancer at the ASCO Quality Care Symposium on September 24-25, 2021. 
Karen E. Knudsen, MBA, PhD, will serve as CEO of the American Cancer Society and its advocacy affiliate, the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network.
The American Association for Cancer Research welcomed David A. Tuveson, MD, PhD, FAACR, as the organization’s 2021-2022 president.
Brian Bolwell, MD, FACP, was appointed chair of physician leadership and development within the Mandel Global Leadership and Learning Institute at Cleveland Clinic.
Randall F. Holcombe, MD, MBA, was appointed director of the University of Vermont Cancer Center and chief of the Division of Hematology and Oncology in the Department of Medicine.
Taofeek K. Owonikoko, MD, PhD, MS, will join the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Hillman Cancer Center as chief of the Division of Hematology/Oncology.
Maryam Lustberg, MD, MPH, was appointed director of The Breast Center at Smilow Cancer Hospital and chief of breast medical oncology at Yale Cancer Center.
Timothy An-thy Chan, MD, PhD, will lead the new Immune Oncology Program at the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at Case Western Reserve University.
Nima Sharifi, MD, was selected as the 2021 recipient of the American Association for Cancer Research Waun Ki Hong Award for Outstanding Achievement in Translational and Clinical Cancer Research.
Inas Abuali, MD, FACP, joined the faculty of Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center and Harvard Medical School as a hospital-based oncologist.
Sukhmani Kaur Padda, MD, was selected to direct thoracic medical oncology at Cedars-Sinai Cancer.
The Society of Surgical Oncology announced its 2021-2022 elected executive council officers, including Douglas S. Tyler, MD, MSHCT, FSSO, as president, Sandra L. Wong, MD, MS, FSSO, as president-elect, and Russell S. Berman, MD, FSSO, as vice president. 
Edith P. Mitchell, MD, MACP, FCPP, FRCP, received the American Association for Cancer Research Minorities in Cancer Research Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship. 
The following individuals were honored by the American Urological Association in 2021: Tracey Lynn Krupski, MD, MPH, received the Robert C. Flanigan Education Award, and Fred Saad, MD, FRCS, received the Distinguished Contribution Award. 
Larry Norton, MD, FASCO, was elected to the American Academy of the Arts & Sciences.
Tampa General Hospital appointed Eduardo M. Sotomayor, MD, as director of its newly established Cancer Institute.
The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center–Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute recruited Marcos J.G. De Lima, MD, to lead its Blood and Marrow Transplant and Cellular Therapy Programs.
Andrew E. Aplin, PhD, was appointed deputy director for scientific strategy of the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center–Jefferson Health.
The National Comprehensive Cancer Network presented Mary B. Daly, MD, PhD, FACP, with the Rodger Winn Award.
Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (HC), was selected as a Temple University Gallery of Success honoree for 2021.
New York University (NYU) Langone/NYU Grossman School of Medicine announced that Kathie-Ann Joseph, MD, MPH, was promoted to the rank of professor in surgery.
Autumn Jackson McRee, MD, will co-lead the newly established Pancreatic Cancer Center of Excellence at the University of North Carolina Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center.
Heather A. Wakelee, MD, FASCO, will assume the role of president of the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) in 2021. In addition, newly elected members of the IASLC Board of Directors will begin their 4-year terms, including: Joachim Aerts, MD, PhD; Carlos Gil Moreira Ferreira, MD, PhD; Lecia Sequist, MD, MPH; Ming-Sound Tsao, MD, FRCPC; Jhanelle Elaine Gray, MD; and Paul E. Van Schil, MD, PhD, as president-elect. 
Mount Sinai Health System recruited Joseph A. Sparano, MD, FACP, as chief of hematology and medical oncology and deputy director of The Tisch Cancer Institute.
Suresh S. Ramalingam, MD, FACP, FASCO, was named executive director of Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University.
Caryn Lerman, PhD, will serve as president of the Association of American Cancer Institutes.
Navneet Majhail, MD, MS, FASTCT, was named deputy physician-in-chief of blood cancers for the Sarah Cannon Transplant and Cellular Therapy Network.
In Memoriam                                                                 
Anita Lang, MD
David Osoba, MD, FRCPC
The ASCO Post contributed reporting.

Back to Top