Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

September 2020 Member News

Sep 03, 2020

ASCO will honor Anne C. Chiang, MD, PhD, FASCO, with the Joseph V. Simone Award and Lecture for Excellence in Quality and Safety in the Care of Patients With Cancer at the 2020 Virtual ASCO Quality Care Symposium, taking place October 9-10.

ASCO expert and Cancer Prevention Committee member Noelle LoConte, MD, spoke on a panel on “NASH and Liver Cancer” for International NASH Day.

Hitomi Jo, MD, Linxiaoxi Ma, and Yara Abdou, MD, were recognized for the scientific merit of their abstracts and their valuable contributions to the field of immuno-oncology at the 2020 ASCO-SITC Immuno-Oncology Symposium by Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation.

Didier Verhoeven, MD, PhD; Cary S. Kaufman, MD; Robert E. Mansel, MD; and Sabine Siesling, PhD, served as editors of Breast Cancer: Global Quality Care, recently published by Oxford University Press. 125 experts, including numerous ASCO members, from 25 countries served as contributors to the book.

Translational Research in Oncology appointed Peter Fasching, MD, to its Board of Directors.

Mehra Golshan, MD, MBA, FACS, was appointed the inaugural deputy chief medical officer for surgical services at Smilow Cancer Hospital and Yale Cancer Center, professor of surgery at Yale School of Medicine, and interim director of the Breast Center at Smilow Cancer Hospital.

Robert L. Coleman, MD, FACOG, FACS, FASCO, was named chief scientific officer for the US Oncology Network.

Eric A. Brown, MD, FACS, joined the staff at Karmanos Cancer Institute as co-leader of the Breast Cancer Multidisciplinary Team.

City of Hope welcomed Stanley Hamilton, MD, and Alexey Danilov, MD, PhD, to the National Medical Center in Duarte, California. Dr. Hamilton is serving as chair of the Department of Pathology, and Dr. Danilov is bringing his independently funded lab to City of Hope’s Toni Stephenson Lymphoma Center, where he is associate director.

The Yale Cancer Center announced the appointment of Amer Zeidan, MBBS, as director of the Hematology Early Therapeutics Program.

Jeff Patton, MD, was named chief executive officer of OneOncology.

The Northwell Health Cancer Institute announced that Catherine Alfano, PhD, will serve as vice president of cancer care management and research, and Joseph Herman, MD, will serve as vice chair of clinical informatics for radiation medicine and director of clinical research integration.

The Fox Chase–Temple University Hospital Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT) Program announced that Henry Chi Hang Fung, MD, FACP, FRCPE, will lead the new Department of Bone Marrow Transplant and Cellular Therapies.

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) announced the presentation of Distinguished Public Service Awards to Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD, FACP, FASCO, and Patricia Spears, BS.

The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) and the NCCN Foundation awarded Wade Thomas Iams, MD, with a Young Investigator Award.

“Clinical Sequelae of the Novel Coronavirus: Does COVID-19 Infection Predispose Patients to Cancer?” by Priya Hays, PhD, was published in the May issue of Future Oncology.

In Memoriam:

Hoo Geun Chun, MD
Peter I. Pressman, MD 
Lawrence J. Solin, MD, FACR, FASTRO
Rosemary Yancik, PhD
John W. Yarbro, MD, PhD, FASCO


Back to Top