Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

May 2021 Member News

May 14, 2021

ASCO is pleased to welcome Sybil R. Green, JD, RPh, MHA, to the new role of diversity and inclusion officer, and Sean Khozin, MD, MPH, as chief executive officer of CancerLinQ LLC, a wholly owned nonprofit subsidiary of ASCO. Ms. Green, a health care policy expert with experience in both corporate and nonprofit organizations, will guide ASCO’s internal and external initiatives aimed at achieving the Society’s equity, diversity, and inclusion goals. Dr. Khozin, a board-certified oncologist, physician-scientist, and data science expert, will oversee the continued expansion and implementation of CancerLinQ, ASCO’s real-world oncology data platform designed to improve the quality of care for people with cancer and drive new research.

GenesisCare has appointed Walter J. (Wally) Curran, Jr., MD, FACR, FASCO, as its first global chief medical officer. 
40 Under 40 in Cancer recognizes the contributions being made across the field of cancer care by rising stars and emerging leaders under age 40. The members of the 2020 40 Under 40 in Cancer class include: Lauren M. Hamel, PhD; Arturo Loaiza-Bonilla, MD, MEd, FACP; Aaron J. Lyss, MBA; Omkar Subhash Marathe, MD; Thomas Urban Marron, MD, PhD; Sumanta K. Pal, MD, FASCO; Chirag B Patel, MD, PhD, MSE; Michael Andrew Postow, MD; Nitya Prabhakar Raj, MD; Melissa Andrea Reimers, MD; Robyn Marie Scherber, MD, MPH; and Namrata Vijayvergia, MD. 
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) announced the leading scientists elected as 2020 fellows. The following individuals are inductees from the oncology community: Sendurai A. Mani, PhD; Matthew Meyerson, MD, PhD; Hiroyoshi Nishikawa, MD, PhD; and Wendy Kimryn Rathmell, MD, PhD.
The Sarah Cannon Cancer Center announced that Melissa Lynne Johnson, MD, has been named program director of lung cancer research. 
Ben Ho Park, MD, PhD, has been named interim director of the Division of Hematology and Oncology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. 
Tuya Pal, MD, has been named incoming editor-in-chief of the National Cancer Institute’s Physician Daily Query (PDQ) Cancer Genetics editorial board, as well as vice chair of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) Genetic/Familial High-Risk Assessment: Breast, Ovarian, and Pancreatic Panel. 
The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) announced the appointment of Crystal S. Denlinger, MD, FACP, to the newly created role of senior vice president, chief scientific officer.
The International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) presented Pan-Chyr Yang, MD, PhD, with the Joseph W. Cullen Prevention/Early Detection Award, and Joan H. Schiller, MD, FASCO, with the Paul A. Bunn, Jr., Scientific Award.
Rachel Adams Greenup, MD, MPH, has been appointed associate professor of surgery (oncology) and section chief of breast surgery for the Department of Surgery at Yale School of Medicine.
Carol L. Brown, FACS, MD, has been appointed the inaugural incumbent of the Nicholls-Biondi Chair for Health Equity at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. 
Daniel Eidelberg Spratt, MD, joined the University Hospitals Seidman Cancer Center team and holds the Vincent K. Smith Chair in Radiation Oncology. 
Kelvin Lee, MD, is the new director of the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Comprehensive Cancer Center. 
In Memoriam
José Baselga, MD, PhD, FASCO
Asif A. Chaudhry, MD
Marc L. Citron, MD
Emil J Freireich, MD, FASCO
Joseph V. Simone, MD, FASCO 

Back to Top