Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

March 2022 Member News

Mar 09, 2022

Paulo Marcelo Hoff, MD, FACP, PhD, FASCO, will serve as the new president of the Brazilian Society of Clinical Oncology.

Westchester Medical Center and New York Medical College jointly announced the appointment of two clinical leaders, including Daniel C. Cho, MD, who will further develop the oncology and hematology programs at both institutions.

Women Leaders In Oncology has named Pamela Kunz, MD, the 2021 Woman Oncologist of the Year.

The Lung Cancer Research Foundation (LCRF) has announced Mariam Jamal-Hanjani, MRCP, PhD, BSc, MRCP, PhD, as one of the recipients of the 2021 LCRF Research Grant on Disparities in Lung Cancer.

Fox Chase Cancer Center announced the hiring of Teresa Y. Lee, MD, PhD, as assistant professor.

Hossein Borghaei, DO, MS, has been named one of three winners of the second annual Lung Cancer Heroes Awards Program.

The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) recognized the recipients of its 2021 Gold Medal awards and other honors at the 63rd ASTRO Annual Meeting. Colleen A.F. Lawton, MD, FASTRO, and Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO, received the Gold Medal, the highest honor bestowed upon an ASTRO member. Additionally, Douglas B. Evans, MD, was selected to be the 2021 ASTRO Honorary Member, the highest honor that ASTRO bestows upon cancer physicians and researchers in disciplines outside of radiation oncology, radiobiology, and medical physics.

The Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center–Jefferson Health (SKCC) has named Marcia Brose, MD, PhD, FASCO, as vice chair of medical oncology and SKCC regional chief of cancer services at Jefferson Torresdale Hospital in Northeast Philadelphia.

Robert A. Winn, MD, received the Health Equity Award from the Association of the American Cancer Institutes.

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and the Rare Cancer Research Foundation have launched a collaboration designed to accelerate the development of new treatments for rare cancers. Research efforts will be led by Futreal and Timothy Heffernan, PhD.

Saad Z. Usmani, MD, MBA, FACP, joined Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) as chief of myeloma service.

Cleveland Clinic announced the appointment of Craig Sauter, MD, as director of their Blood and Marrow Transplant Program.

The American Cancer Society and Flatiron Health announced Dawn Hershman, MD, MS, FASCO, as one of the recipients of their Real-World Data Impact Award.

The University of Southern California (USC) Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center at Keck Medicine of USC announced the upcoming launch of the Eileen McGeever Breast Cancer Survivorship Program, which will be led by a group of USC Norris scientists and clinicians including Irene Kang, MD, and Caryn Lerman, PhD.

Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah of Jordan honored recipients of the 2021 King Hussein Awards for Cancer Research. Recipients included Hikmat Abdel-Razeq, MD, and Raya Hamad Saab, MD, who received Established Investigator Awards, as well as Nagi El Saghir, MD, FACP, FASCO, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award for a Regional Doctor.

Nagi El Saghir, MD, FACP, FASCO, received the 2019 Susan Bulkeley Butler Leadership Excellence Award: Making Strides in Cancer Prevention.

The University of North Carolina Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center has appointed Wendy Brewster, MD, PhD, as associate director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

Tara O. Henderson, MD, MPH, has been named the new section chief of the Section of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology and Stem Cell Transplantation. She will also serve as leader of the Chicagoland Children’s Health Alliance (CCHA) Cancer and Blood Diseases Service Line.

Lewis Clayton Cantley, PhD, BS, will be joining the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

The Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer recognized Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc), with its 2021 Tara Withington Public Service Award.

The Association of Community Cancer Centers presented its 2021 Annual Awards at its 38th National Oncology Conference. Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO, received the Annual Achievement Award, and Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FACP, FSCT, FASCO, received the Clinical Research Award.

Peter W. Marks, MD, PhD, received the 2021 the American Society Of Hematology Outstanding Service Award.

The American Society of Hematology recognized Matthew McEvoy, FAAP, MD, as one of their three Choosing Wisely Champions—individuals working to tackle the overuse of hematology tests and treatments.

Several of the researchers and scientists at the 42nd annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium (SABCS) attended the event on the basis of scholarships awarded through SABCS and its cosponsor, the American Association of Cancer Research (AACR). The scholarships were awarded to poster and spotlight session presenters. Veronica Mariotti, MD, received the SABCS Clinical Scholar Award; Alexandra Desnoyers, MD, Joshua Z. Drago, MD, and Nathalie LeVasseur, MD, received the Coltman Scholar Award; Nicolò Matteo Luca Battisti, MD, PhD, and Demetria Smith-Graziani, MD, received the Arti Hurria Travel Award; Yara Abdou, MD, Isaac Chan, MD, PhD, Lorenzo Gerratana, MD, and Siddhartha Yadav, FACP, MD, received the AACR Associate Merit Award.

NEXT Oncology announced the addition of Sharon Wilks, MD, to its Phase I Clinical Oncology Investigation Team.

In Memoriam
Michel R. Hurtubise, MD; Dina Randazzo, DO, MS; Elie Mouaikel, MD, FRCPC; Martin A. “Mac” Cheever, MD
The ASCO Post contributed reporting.

Back to Top