Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

March 2021 Member News

Mar 08, 2021

The Community Oncology Alliance (COA) elected new members to serve in leadership positions, including Kashyap B. Patel, MD, as president, Miriam Atkins, MD, FACP, as vice president, Debra Patt, MD, PhD, MBA, as secretary, and Emily Zaruhi Touloukian, DO, as a new member of the Board.

Karen E. Knudsen, PhD, MBA, is the new president of the Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI).

Jame Abraham, MD, FACP, has been named deputy editor of ASCO’s JCO Oncology Practice (JCO OP).

Richard Pazdur, MD, was awarded the University of Chicago Cancer Research Foundation’s Simon M. Shubitz Cancer Prize and Lectureship.

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) has announced the 2020–2021 class of U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-AACR Oncology Educational Fellows, including: Samer Al Hadidi, MD, MS, FACP; Gagandeep Brar, MD; Michael Charles Burns, PhD, MD; Christopher Chen, MD; Aparna Madhukeshwar Hegde, MBBS; Jasmine Huynh, MD; Justin H. Lo, MD, PhD; Ryan Huu-Tuan Nguyen, DO; Timil Patel, MD; and Ilana M. Schlam, MD.

Adam Joel Bass, MD, will join the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University and New York-Presbyterian as the founding director of the Center for Precision Cancer Medicine and director of gastrointestinal oncology.

Robert A. Brodsky, MD, will serve a 1-year term as vice president, followed by successive terms as president-elect and president, at the American Society of Hematology (ASH).

Daniel D. Von Hoff, MD, FACP, FASCO, FAACR, received the inaugural Daniel D. Von Hoff Award for Outstanding Contributions to Education and Training in Cancer Research from the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR).

City of Hope Orange County announced the appointment of Edward S. Kim, MD, MBA, FACP, FASCO, as senior vice president and vice physician-in-chief at City of Hope and Orange County physician-in-chief.

New York University (NYU) Langone Health’s Perlmutter Cancer Center appointed Abraham Chachoua, MD, as the new director of Perlmutter Cancer Center’s Lung Cancer Center.

Shilpi Gupta, MD, joined the Atlantic Health System Cancer Care’s Comprehensive Breast Health Program.

The American Society of Hematology (ASH) awarded Michelle Le Beau, PhD, their 2020 Henry M. Stratton Medal.

Sara Federico, MD, received the 2020 Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award from the National Cancer Institute (NCI).

Edith P. Mitchell, MD, FACP, FCPP, FRCP, has been recognized as a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London (RCP).

Lorna Rodriguez-Rodriguez, MD, PhD, is among 21 women leaders in the United States who were invited to join the Carol Emmott Fellowship Class of 2021.

The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) announced the appointment of Sue S. Yom, MD, PhD, FASTRO, as editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Radiation Oncology • Biology • Physics (Red Journal), ASTRO’s flagship scientific journal.

Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center’s Igor Puzanov, MD, MSCI, FACP, was recognized as a global scientific pioneer on Clarivate Plc’s Highly Cited Researchers list for 2020.

In Memoriam

Robert H. Cassell, MD, PhD
Kenneth D. Hatch, MD
John M. Mueller, MD

Back to Top