Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

January 2021 Member News

Jan 14, 2021

ASCO CEO Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO, is among the 15 oncology professionals who were inducted into the 2020 class of OncLive Giants of Cancer Care in November 2020. Other inductees included Martine J. Piccart-Gebhart, MD, PhD, FASCO; Laura J. van ’t Veer, PhD; Hope S. Rugo, MD, FASCO; Margaret A. Tempero, MD, FASCO; Dean F. Bajorin, MD, FACP, FASCO; Robert L. Coleman, MD, FACOG, FACS, FASCO; Tony S. K. Mok, MD, FRCPC, FASCO; George P. Canellos, MD, FASCO; Keith T. Flaherty, MD; Sagar Lonial, MD; Richard J. Gralla, MD, FACP; and Maura L. Gillison, MD, PhD.  
CancerLinQ medical director Robert Miller, MD, FASCP, FASCO, FAMIA, was recently awarded the honorific title of Fellow of the American Medical Informatics Association (FAMIA). This honor recognizes AMIA members who apply informatics skills and knowledge within their professional setting and who have demonstrated professional achievement and leadership.
Fred R. Hirsch, MD, PhD, was announced as a 2020 Lung Cancer Hero by CURE magazine, which recognizes individuals who have gone above and beyond in making a difference in the lives of those affected by lung cancer.
Lois B. Travis, MD, ScD, of the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Comprehensive Cancer Center, was awarded a 5-year, $5.7 million National Cancer Institute grant to evaluate long-term health outcomes for patients with cancer who receive platinum-based chemotherapies.
Charis Eng, MD, PhD, FACP, received a 2-year grant from the PTEN Research Foundation to investigate how genomic alterations influence PTEN hamartoma tumor syndrome (PHTS).
Steven Grossman, MD, PhD, was named cancer physician in chief of the University of Southern California (USC) Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center.
Patrick Hwu, MD, was named president and chief executive officer of Moffitt Cancer Center.
Cedars-Sinai Cancer Center in Los Angeles welcomed Arsen Osipov, MD, to their faculty.
LUNGevity Foundation announced Kathryn Cecilia Arbour, MD, and Carl Michael Gay, MD, PhD, as recipients of its 2020 Career Development Awards for lung cancer research.          
Susan G. Komen presented the 2020 Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction to Laura Esserman, MD, MBA, FASCO.
Nagi S. El Saghir, MD, FACP, FASCO, was awarded the National Cedar Medal (Commander Rank), one of Lebanon’s highest national honors, for his contributions to the fields of medicine, education, and science.
The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) has selected 19 distinguished members to receive the ASTRO Fellow (FASTRO) designation, including Elizabeth H. Baldini, MD, MPH; Ronald C. Chen, MD, MPH, FASCO; Prajnan Das, MD, MPH, MS; William F. Demas, MD, FACR; Jason A. Efstathiou, MD, DPhil, FASTRO, FACRO; Ronald D. Ennis, MD; Michael Philip Hagan, MD, PhD; Anuja Jhingran, MD; Joseph Kamel Salama, MD; Felicia E. Snead, MD; Julia S. Wong, MD; and Sue S. Yom, MD, PhD.
In Memoriam
Robert C. Edmondson, MD
Tomás Lyons, MB BCh
Charles E. McKay, MD, MBA
Bradley A. Sachs, DO

Back to Top