Home > Magazine > Asco Member News

ASCO Announces Election Candidates; Voting Opens on November 3, 2021

Sep 20, 2021

The ASCO Nominating Committee has selected 15 distinguished members as candidates for open leadership positions within the Society. Voting Members are urged to vote in the election beginning November 3, 2021. Voting will close on December 7, 2021.

This year’s diverse slate of ASCO candidates reflects significant innovations that were adopted by the membership to increase diversity and inclusivity in ASCO governance. Amendments to the ASCO Bylaws were passed by the members in the 2020 election and went into effect this year. As a result, ASCO members will notice two significant changes to this year’s election:

  • Greatly expanded eligibility for voting and service: More than 12,000 additional ASCO members are eligible to vote in this year’s election for the first time. Any member with a doctoral-level degree, regardless of membership category, is eligible to vote in the ASCO election, serve on the ASCO Board of Directors, and serve on the ASCO Nominating Committee. This means approximately 83% of all ASCO members are eligible to vote. Voting Members must be in good standing as of October 18, 2021, to be eligible to vote in this year’s election.
  • Greater opportunity for service and diversity in the role of President-Elect: This year there is one name on the ballot for President-Elect. The nomination was recommended by the Nominating Committee and approved by the Board of Directors as set out in the ASCO Bylaws. Under this system, more of the prior Board members are engaged and willing to serve as President-Elect. The Nominating Committee and Board are able to support diversity in the role of President-Elect from year to year. Over the long term, the ASCO Presidency can reflect the diversity of the oncology community in terms of specialty, professional setting, geography, demographics, and other characteristics. Voting Members are able to vote in favor of the President-Elect candidate or write in an alternate candidate. The change applies only to the role of President-Elect; multiple candidates are nominated for open seats on the Board of Directors and the Nominating Committee.

These changes to the Society Bylaws were reviewed and approved by the Society Board of Directors and passed by a two-thirds majority of members voting in 2020. They are intended to increase diversity and member engagement in shaping the future of the organization.

President-Elect (one seat, 4-year term) 

Lynn M. Schuchter, MD, FASCO
Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania

Board of Directors – Designated Community Oncologist (one seat, 4-year term)

Carolyn B. Hendricks, MD, FASCO
Maryland Oncology Hematology PA

Debra A. Patt, MD, MBA, PhD, FASCO
Texas Oncology PA

Board of Directors – Designated International Oncologist (one seat, 4-year term)

Frederick Chite Asirwa, MD, MBChB
International Cancer Institute

Clarissa Maria de Cerqueira Mathias, MD
NOB Oncoclinicas

Board of Directors – Designated Radiation Oncologist (one seat, 4-year term)

Maximilian Diehn, MD, PhD
Stanford University School of Medicine

Karen M. Winkfield, MD, PhD
Meharry-Vanderbilt Alliance/Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Board of Directors – Undesignated Member (one seat, 4-year term)

Norah Lynn Henry, MD, PhD, FACP, FASCO
University of Michigan

Ann H. Partridge, MD, MPH, FASCO
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Nominating Committee – Designated Community Oncologist (one seat, 3-year term)

Manmeet S. Ahluwalia, MD, MBA
Miami Cancer Institute

Dan S. Zuckerman, MD, FASCO
St. Luke’s Cancer Institute

Nominating Committee – Undesignated Member (two seats, each a 3-year term)

Christopher R. Friese, PhD, RN, AOCN
University of Michigan

Rachna T. Shroff, MD
University of Arizona Cancer Center

Cardinale B. Smith, MD, PhD
Mount Sinai Tisch Cancer Center, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Tiffany A. Traina, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Election results will be announced in mid-December 2021, and newly elected leaders will begin their terms in office in June 2022. Please contact ASCO Election staff with any questions.

Back to Top